Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Ethernet outside?

    This is a discussion on Ethernet outside? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can I run an Ethernet or Lan connection from sitting room outside and up an external wall to the room ...

    1. #1
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet outside?

      Can I run an Ethernet or Lan connection from sitting room outside and up an external wall to the room above? The Laptop upstairs has recently been unable to maintain a wireless connection (we have tried different configs ie window zero etc) also we have tried different adapters. The reason for the outside is we cannot drill a hole through lathe and plaster ceilings they are old and might just disintegrate, and we cannot run one upstairs easily due to an extension on the property, also hubby does not want wires everywhere! Help please I am unsure because the router is an electrical connection.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      i think it would be fine as there will be no electricity flowing through an ethernet cable i would maybe go into a maplin store and aske if they have any weather proof cables also i have seen on other posts there plugs that send the connection use the power cables ?? they might work

    4. #3
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      I've seen them strung between buildings like a washing line. Not recommended, but they worked (more or less). Keep them tidy and fastened to the wall securely and you should be okay.

    5. #4
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      No problem from a safety point of view (no current to speak of along the network cable). Also the router is low voltage and double insulated.

      Technically CAT5 cable is not weatherproof and may deteriorate over several centuries.

      You could run inside conduit if you would feel happier.

      Don't forget the drip loop!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    6. #5
      radion's Avatar
      radion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: liverpool south
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      i have a cat5 10 metre cable running to a network switch upstairs via outside wall ,switch runs two pcs upstairs ,no problems

    7. #6
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      Thank you all, the help is very much appreciated, I am off to pace out how much I need (Not including climbing walls), or I might have a discreet look at work for some spare as we have ditched our router. Thanks again.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    8. #7
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    9. #8
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet outside?

      Ta looking good, got the ladders ready (upstairs is a 3rd storey loft bedroom) checked my personal accident insurance and weather conditions..oh and remember not to wear a dress lol.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION