Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

    This is a discussion on Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have recently moved into a new house , and a couple of weeks ago i installed Sky Broadband as ...

    1. #1
      luke0380's Avatar
      luke0380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blunsdon
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      I have recently moved into a new house , and a couple of weeks ago i installed Sky Broadband as my ISP. Since having internet access, it has been more not working than working !!

      My house is a Coach House, so i have the master BT Scoket downstairs and three extension sockets upstairs, when plugging the the Sky router to any of the extension sockets upstairs using the required filters i get no internet access. If i then plug the router in downstairs to the main BT socket i have been able to get onto the internet every now again , however this is very infrequent and not for long before the connection drops!!

      On phoning Sky they advised me to take the face plate of the front of the master socket and plug the router into the test socket which i did and the internet worked straight away!

      Great, but i can't leave the box like that! I then proceeded to disconnect the extension cable that were upstairs from the main bt socket , I then re-installed the face plate and i could use the master socket to connect my router to and connect to the internet.

      Obviously by doing this none of the upstairs extension could work for Sky , telephones etc!! So the problem looks like it's something to do with the wiring of the telephone extension sockets!

      My question is what do i do next to try and fix the problem ? The house is a new build , and all the extensions when connected to the master socket work for example if a phone is plugged in it will work. However if the extension sockets are then connected they won't work! , i have even disconnected everything from upstairs when the extension wires are connected just to eliminate any filters, but still same result!

      Help!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Agent Smith's Avatar
      Agent Smith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochdale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      I cant help you with the wiring, but i had the same problem so i disconnected the extentions from the main socket and now we use cordless phones for upstairs rooms. This works fine for me. Hope this gives you another option.

    4. #3
      neil.'s Avatar
      neil. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!


    5. #4
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      Quote Originally Posted by Agent Smith View Post
      I cant help you with the wiring, but i had the same problem so i disconnected the extentions from the main socket and now we use cordless phones for upstairs rooms. This works fine for me. Hope this gives you another option.
      Trouble is i need to get it sorted!! , because i have a Coach house , the master socket is downstairs next to the front door , i have no downstairs in effect, everything is upstairs and i need to have the router connected , plus my phones and of course the sky box.

    6. #5
      luke0380's Avatar
      luke0380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blunsdon
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      Quote Originally Posted by neil. View Post
      Would that make much of a difference , even with filters on it still doesn't work, so putting that on would it have any effect ?

    7. #6
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      think i would go through one socket at a time
      try this guide,, DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      also 3 extentions, so 4 microfilters right? 3 phones +tv

      note the 'next' button seems to be missing in step2, click the socket pic
      Last edited by stripe; 04-02-07 at 11:43 AM.

    8. #7
      luke0380's Avatar
      luke0380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blunsdon
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      Quote Originally Posted by stripe View Post
      think i would go through one socket at a time
      try this guide,, DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      also 3 extentions, so 4 microfilters right? 3 phones +tv
      1 Master socket which currently has router plugged in, 3 extensions! 1 x Not being used, 1 x Dect Phone , 1 Sky + Box

      Ideal setup Master socket downstairs with no devices plugged in. Router , Dect Phone and Sky + Box plugged into the three extension sockets upstairs. The master socket is at the bottom of the stairs by the front door, and not enough space to plug much equipment in.

    9. #8
      philm's Avatar
      philm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      I followed the instructions and disconnected the ringer wire on all my extensions and master socket and my d/stream went from 4216kbps to 7616kbps!!

      Thanks alot!!!

    10. #9
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      This guide may also be of use:

      Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring

      Although you are not rewiring, it has some very useful information.

      You need to go through connecting each extension 1 by 1 to find where the problem lies. Also, the terminals on the back of the faceplate are not really designed for multiple connections. 2 is okay, but 3 is pushing it

    11. #10
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection help! Extension Wiring and BT Master Socket!

      If possible I've always found it best to run extensions in series, whereby additional extensions run from an existing extension socket rather than run multiple extensions all the way from the master socket. Not only is it neater it cuts down on the amount of cable needed in most cases.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION