Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 43

    Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

    This is a discussion on Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL??? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; right 'o, many many thanks for your help stephens. have ordered an XTE-2005 faceplate, XTF-85 extension socket and a professional ...

    1. #21
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      right 'o, many many thanks for your help stephens. have ordered an XTE-2005 faceplate, XTF-85 extension socket and a professional IDC tool. Now just need to order a 15m cat6 cable and some wire strippers and away i go.

      Peace.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      Your welcome!

      Remember solid core and make a note of all the info you need before you start.

      Good Luck!

    4. #23
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      Will do.

      Peace.

    5. #24
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      I AM COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY STUMPPED BY THESE NEW LINE STATS!!!!!!

      ok, so i have done the whole re-wire process and i'm pretty sure i did everyrthing by the book and this is the before and after:

      Before Line stats (evening):

      ADSL Link...................Downstream..........Upstrea m
      Connection Speed.........8032 kbps.............768 kbps
      Line Attenuation...........32.0 db.................20.5 db
      Noise Margin.................7.9 db.................14.0 db

      Before ping to Jolt.co.uk:

      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 31ms, Average = 30ms

      OK NOW FOR AFTER THE RE-WIRE:

      After line stats (evening):

      ADSL Link...................Downstream..........Upstrea m
      Connection Speed.........7360 kbps.............768 kbps
      Line Attenuation...........31.0 db.................20.0 db
      Noise Margin.................7.4 db.................13.0 db


      After Pings to Jolt.co.uk (Done quite a few to get an overall picture):

      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 5ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 45ms, Average = 24ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 5ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 44ms, Average = 41ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 41ms, Average = 31ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 44ms, Average = 33ms



      Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 6ms

      WTF!!! pings are all over the place and line stats are worse??!! only good thing is that line attenuation went down by a 'whopping' One Whole db

      i really dont know what i have done wrong??? could it be that the lables inside the extensoin XTF socket are reversed on the A/B??? like there have been reports on the adslnation website. but then would the router get a sync at all???

      i was also kinda confused on how to secure the A/5 and B/2 wires to the terminals in the XTF-85 Extension socket, they were screw type terminals so i just presumed all i had to do was insert a stripped part of the wire into the hole and screw down. i did that and it seemed secure enough. has anyone else used and XTF extension socket? have i done this right???

      Please could someone shed some light on this, i was really just expecting a Noise margin Increase, but this! this is just crazy!

    6. #25
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      Yes you do just need to screw a stripped part of the wire into the terminals.

      I would not expect a noise margin increase, but I would expect a sync increase.

      There is something wrong along the way there. Try taking the wires out and re-connecting them, or even using a different pair of wires. When you screw the wire into the terminals try doubling up the cable (bend it over). Other than that there is only the factor of sharp bends in the cable.

      What are the stats from the master?

    7. #26
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      ok, i'll try re-connecting some wires and see if that helps. as far as i know i have tried my best to keep the wire straight as possible, there are no sharp bends to my knowledge.

      the stats from my master socket are above in the 'Before' Section. but again that was through a cheapo telephone extension reel of about 15m.

      i'll try the re-wire next.

    8. #27
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      ok, i am lost now. while i was re-wiring the XTF extension socket. i thaught lemme try switching the A/B wires, so i did. and guess what its still the same!!! the stats are exactly the same, it synced fine and everything, WTF is going on!? does this mean it does'nt matter if i connect the A/B wires the wrong way round?!

      This is madness i tell you, madness!

    9. #28
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      I have never worked with the adslnation faceplate, I have only worked with the official BT adsl faceplate but I think it looks the same.

      It should not work if the wires are connected the opposite way round as far as I know, cant say I have ever needed to do that, lol.

      You need to connect to the master socket with no extension. Just a short cable. The before stats above are irrelevant if you used an extension, your true speed will only be found with a short cable.

      The correct setup is:

      B - Blue/White - 2
      A White/Blue - 5

      The wire colours can be any pair though to check if the others are damaged
      Last edited by stephens; 08-02-07 at 12:57 PM.

    10. #29
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      Quote Originally Posted by stephens View Post
      I have never worked with the adslnation faceplate, I have only worked with the official BT adsl faceplate but I think it looks the same.

      It should not work if the wires are connected the opposite way round as far as I know, cant say I have ever needed to do that, lol.

      You need to connect to the master socket with no extension. Just a short cable. The before stats above are irrelevant if you used an extension, your true speed will only be found with a short cable.

      The correct setup is:

      B - Blue/White - 2
      A White/Blue - 5

      The wire colours can be any pair though to check if the others are damaged
      yes that is the wierd thing! i have wired up the B - Blue/white to the B terminal in the XTE faceplate and the A White/Blue in the A terminal on the XTE faceplate. But on the socket i know i wired it correctly (same colours to the right terminals) but i have even switched them round in the extnsion socket and it is still the exacts same stats! that is soo wierd! you would think i would get no sync at all because the wires are in the wrong terminals! but it seems wither i put the wires the wrong way round or the right way round makes NO difference!.

      Unfortunatley my computer is not near the master socket. all i can really do is set it up wirelessly and then get the router stats wirelssly form my comp. I will try that tonight.

    11. #30
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Cabling Help Required - Ethernet or Sheilded ADSL???

      ok i am begining to think i have really screwed something up here. i done the whole re-wire and the stats were the same, tried switching A/B wires over and stats were the same. Then i went on to physically attaching the router to the master socket and then the test socket and guess what! stats are the same!?? how can this be??! how can the stats be worse than when it was connected through the cheopo 15m telphone extension!

      I think there are only two real conclusions here:

      1. there is something wrong at the exchange and is forcing low speeds and high noise on the line.

      OR

      2. I f'd up the master socket wiring while installing the XTE-faceplate (i don't know how this was possible though).

      I removed the back part of the BT master socket just to check if everything was ok (i know i'm not supposed to touch anything here). anyway the A/B wires seemed to be fine but there were like four other wires just hanging there. i don't know what they are for but most likely just spare wires. But there was a third wire that had a 'hooked' stripped end. it seemed like it should go somewhere but obviously there are only two terminals. so i was kinda lost (maybe the wire does'nt go anywhere at all). anyway i accidently touched this wire with the A terminal and it cut the phone out! but when i untouched it, it was fine again. i am assuming this is some sort of ring wire that should just be left un-attached to anything?

      Anyway any thuaghts as to why my stats have just suddenly deteriated and why it is the same stats no matter if i use an extension or not?
      Last edited by zub; 10-02-07 at 12:43 AM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION