Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

    This is a discussion on Help me out with this new face plate please guys.. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've read through the guides and to be honest it means bugger all to me lol I currently ...

    1. #1
      Draxx's Avatar
      Draxx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earley Reading
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Hi all, I've read through the guides and to be honest it means bugger all to me lol

      I currently have a BT master socket that I have taken the face plate off and using the test socket to connect my modem. Doing this I get a better sync rate and faster connection.

      Now there are two extensions attached to the socket and thus behind the face plate it looks like spagetti junction!

      So once I've got the new ADSL Nation faceplate I need to know what wires I need to connect to each clippy thing in the new faceplate.

      I really need it in plane english as I can't make head nor bottom out of the guide

      Hope you can help

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Hi Paul

      In an ideal world when you get your new faceplate, you only need to connect the wires that are currently in the old faceplate in the holes 2 and 5 so to speak, to the same numbers on the new faceplate.

      If that makes sense
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Draxx's Avatar
      Draxx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earley Reading
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Currently there are wires in ALL six clippy things. So for the two extensions to work properly include ringing all I have to do is connect same wires as currently in 2 and 5, correct?

      I take it the ADSL connection will come from other wires connected "inside" the new faceplate to the ADSL socket on the front?

      Oh does the ADSL nation plate come with some form of instructions?

      Cheers for your help so far chap

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      all I have to do is connect same wires as currently in 2 and 5, correct?
      Thats all I did.

      To be on the safe side, either label them or do a diagram and then swap the faceplates over.

      Start off with 2 and 5 and then try it and see if everything is ok
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..


    7. #6
      Draxx's Avatar
      Draxx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earley Reading
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Helps a bit chap, thanks.

      One question though, the NTE5 shown Here only has three clips, but mine has six. I take it as it says that the others arn't used (this begs the question whay are they connected though)

    8. #7
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      The other wires are only connected for neatness and have no function.

    9. #8
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Mine has 6 also, You only need to connect two wires each. ( four altogether )
      The two that are connected to the numbers are for your phone, and the two that are connected to A&B are for your ADSL connection.

      This is the link I should have sent - sorry
      This explains it better

      Modified ADSL BT NTE5 Master Adaptor Faceplate

    10. #9
      Draxx's Avatar
      Draxx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earley Reading
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Ah ok, so all I need to do is move the wires from 2, 3 and 5 to the new face plate. A and B I take it do not need connecting, but will be passed through to the ADSL socket on the front when the faceplate is attached (via the test socket) Or am I vastly mistaken and you have to connect A and B to some other part of the faceplate????

      Sorry for all the questions

    11. #10
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help me out with this new face plate please guys..

      Thats correct if youre going to plug your router in the front.

      I have my router upstairs, so I cabled using šA&Bš up the stairs, put a socket on the end and plug my router in there.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION