Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    Sky is only half the speed of BT, Why?

    This is a discussion on Sky is only half the speed of BT, Why? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys and girls, hope someone can help me as i'm a little puzzled to say the least. When I ...

    1. #1
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky is only half the speed of BT, Why?

      Hi guys and girls, hope someone can help me as i'm a little puzzled to say the least.

      When I had BT Broadband, I could get a download rate of roughly 350kb/sec and it connected at 4Mb.

      However, with Sky I get a 2MB connection and max D/L rate's of 220kb/sec, usually around 150-180kb.

      I can't understand why my Broadband speed has altered? I live in the same house, use the same exchange, use the same line. The only difference is the Router & that Sky is my ISP.

      I was under the impression reading various posts that the line speed is negotiated usually within the first 10 days then you should see the final speed that it runs at thereafter, why is it slower with Sky?

      Thanks, Chris.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Chris

      As you are on connect, the speed will vary for the first 10 days, hold tight and wait until 10 days have passed, and see what your speeds are like then
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi mate, i've had connect for about 4 months now, by phoning Tier 3 could they check my line/increase the speed? (PM me the phone number someone please!).

      At work now so don't have my stats to hand BTW.

      Thanks, Chris.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      0800 051 2595

      Is the freephone number, got to be worth a ring
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      only a 22 minute wait

    7. #6
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just phoned Sky, line check indicates 2.5Mb/sec max on my line, yet it used to be able to support 4Mb, damn this is driving me mad.

      Checked myself just now and it too shows 2.5Mb max, since the Downstream is 2048 on my line this effectively means i'm gettingb 2.0Mb per/sec. Is there a way to increase it by 500 kb/sec even?

      I guess the answers I am about to receive are:

      • Sort out the miles of cabling in your house (true, I do have about a 15m RJ11 cable from my phone socket to my Router)
      • Get some form of shielding on the phone socket (how/where!? please tell me i'm a numpty)
      • Play around with the noise db settings using Mognuts' utility
      • Get some shielded RJ11 wire - would love to, please tell me where to get it from!?


      Help

      Chris.
      Last edited by hellfire18; 27-12-06 at 07:54 PM.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you tried the test socket, behind the master socket?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=master
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #8
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks mate, only problem i'd have with that is both my router and my pc are upstairs, moving the router isn't an issue, moving the pc is & i don't have a wireless NIC in my PC so it'd all have to come downstairs, a fairly big job, but I suppose needs must an' all so if I can be bothered then i'll do it when I have some spare time.

      I'll post all my stats when I get home tonight and you can see if it all weighs up to the speed I am getting.

      Thanks for all the help buddy, Chris.
      Last edited by hellfire18; 27-12-06 at 08:25 PM.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      If and when you try the test socket, you may be surprised, mine went from 3.2mb to just under 7mb. It has to be worth a try at least!
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I really reccomend the Test Socket aswell.. Mine went from 7mb to just under 13mb!
      Thats a 6Mb Gain!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION