Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Sky is only half the speed of BT, Why?

    This is a discussion on Sky is only half the speed of BT, Why? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Surely if it indicates the max speed I can get on my line is 2.5 MB/sec it's never going to ...

    1. #11
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Surely if it indicates the max speed I can get on my line is 2.5 MB/sec it's never going to go above this even if I do the master socket test?

      Here is some info for you to evaluate, it appears my downstream has increased by 300 odd kbps for some reason so it now appears that I am only 200 kbps off the maximum my line can handle?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2304 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 22.0 db
      Last edited by hellfire18; 27-12-06 at 09:52 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      That Sky Max rate was a load off naff! As they said we could only get 8mb!

      Based on your attenuation you have a potential connection speed of 6 - 10 Mbps

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      The trick is to test in the test socket and see if your stats improve, if they do then you have sussed it!

      According to BT at 3.5km I can get approx 2mb, however I get just under 7mb
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #14
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      The tests sky ran on mine indicated a max of 6 megs I can connect at up to 9 with best stability at around 7.5.

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The only accurate test was on DSLZone, Predicted through the attenuation!

    7. #16
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So if it increases, I have internal wiring issues, may need a decent master socket etc, if it doesn't increase then I really am at the Max I can currently receive?

      Thanks, Chris.

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #18
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, just bought the XTE-2005 professional quality master socket filter from ADSL Nation, I am going to test everything tomorrow anyway, but having looked at my master socket I definately need a new one as it's very flimsy and looks almost damaged with wires dangling out !

      Probably the reason i'm getting such poor results!

      Thanks for all the help, i'll post my findings tomorrow...

      Chris.

    10. #19
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I definately need a new one as it's very flimsy and looks almost damaged with wires dangling out
      That is probably the problem, good luck
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #20
      greggy100's Avatar
      greggy100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Lundun
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      When I first joined I had HUGE problems - connections, mainting connections and connections with 0Kb! But one of the Sky bods (who seemd to know what he was doing) said that Sky (EasyNet?) usually drop down download speeds to get some stability and then gradually increase until it goes wobbly and then knock it back a bit. If they don't increase it manually, then you might need to prompt them.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION