Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Improved Stats With New Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Improved Stats With New Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This may be a "SINGLE" line issue, But surely I should be able to get better than this; Code: ADSL ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      This may be a "SINGLE" line issue, But surely I should be able to get better than this;
      Code:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 6528 kbps 768 kbps Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.0 db Noise Margin 11.1 db 14.0 db
      Thats from the MasterSocket no test socket?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jaytc2003's Avatar
      jaytc2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lcath - Atherton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      with stats like that I would expect better. I have a downstream of 43db and sync at over 7000 (admittedly I am using a speedtouch router and have tweaked the snr to a stable 4.5db) so with your attenuation I would expect close or over 10000. Can you try the test socket?

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      lol.. I dont have a test socket mate!

      and i dont know what else to try apart from wait for the new socket to come!
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 19-12-06 at 03:48 PM.

    5. #14
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Well...

      BT Arrived today and Installed the NEW NTE5 socket - Yes, FREE!

      And my noise and stuff has leved out! Just need Sky to remove the cap!


      EDIT!

      Yes, BT have done their Bit, Sky have done theirs!

      And From;
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8672 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 4.9 db 10.0 db

      to

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11223 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.1 db
      Noise Margin 11.2 db 18.0 db

      Speedtests;

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 8453 kbps (1056.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 729 kbps (91.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Taken @Speedtest.bbmax.co.uk


      Taken @ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 21-12-06 at 03:34 PM.

    6. #15
      madman11's Avatar
      madman11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improved Stats With New Master Socket

      Wow! I'm in the same position as you mate. I got an old BT style box with no test socket.
      What number did you call and what did you say to them to get them to come and do it for free?
      It would be really nice if you could help me out

      Thanks

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Improved Stats With New Master Socket

      If you report a voice line fault BT will investigate. If they think your socket may be a contributing factor (or if the engineer feels like being kind) then they will replace it for free. If you're generous with the bickies then you might just get a filtered faceplate fitted too.

      BT line faults dial 151.

    8. #17
      madman11's Avatar
      madman11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improved Stats With New Master Socket

      What if i got no fault on my voice line Just my SNR sucks...
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-01-07 at 10:50 AM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceeding post

    9. #18
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Improved Stats With New Master Socket

      If they find no fault then they find no fault.

    10. #19
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improved Stats With New Master Socket

      @madman11

      i don't have an NTE-5 socket, so I'm going to report a line fault and see how i get on. hopefully bt will fit one for me. i may have to be a bit melodramatic/dishonest (whichever you want to call it), but i will see how i get on.

      maybe bt want to get rid of old-style sockets, so more people can try to fix faults with a test socket. i know i would...

      anyway, we can but try. i share Saturdays philosophy on it - no fault is no fault. it's got to be worth a stab though.

      good luck in your quest!



     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION