Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    speed problem :S

    This is a discussion on speed problem :S within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Installed one of those adsl nation faceplates, and a new extension faceplate upstairs, connected to the front of the adslnation ...

    1. #1
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speed problem :S

      Installed one of those adsl nation faceplates, and a new extension faceplate upstairs, connected to the front of the adslnation one i get the full 8.1mb which i have never got before which is good
      however since i changed the extension faceplate im only getting 3.5 up here :S Only the two wires are connected tot he back of the extension, any ideas guys?
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      And you've definitely connected the router extension to the unfiltered connectors on the replacement master socket faceplate?

      Try remaking the connections - with a Krone tool of course.

    4. #3
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      And you've definitely connected the router extension to the unfiltered connectors on the faceplate?

      Try remaking the connections - with a Krone tool of course.
      Yep, it was fine at first, im sure!
      And ive redone all the connections!
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    5. #4
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i will try connecting the old faceplate up, and the extension to that, see if that makes it any better.
      ed
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    6. #5
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      anymore suggestions?
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    7. #6
      jaytc2003's Avatar
      jaytc2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lcath - Atherton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      you have already answered your own question really. you get max capability at the master but from the cabling upto the other extension you get less signal. Do you have a phone plugged in on the extension? Is it filtered?

      If so then you know that it is an issue with the extension itself. I would check the quality of the cable, check for any kinks etc.

    8. #7
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changed the master faceplate back to the BT one, still the same upstairs, i would say it is the wire, so will have to relay some! However, is it normal that when i connect the router to the test socket i get 13mb instead of 10 that i get on adsl nation faceplate?
      Cheers
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    9. #8
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re wired the extension using CAT5-E cabling! Works perfectly

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      With the ADSL Nation face plate?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #10
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yep, Cat5 connected to the A and B terminals on the back of the plate to an extension upstairs!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION