Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    Like Tree1Likes

    15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

    This is a discussion on 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I currently have sky fibre up to 40mbs, the master phone socket with an ADSL faceplate (only phone socket ...

    1. #1
      dragon18007's Avatar
      dragon18007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Hi

      I currently have sky fibre up to 40mbs, the master phone socket with an ADSL faceplate (only phone socket in house) is in the livingroom and the modem is in the upstairs bedroom, I currently have about a 15 meter RJ11 cable exactly like this one - RJ11 to RJ11 Cable 10m | Maplin connected to the faceplate that runs upstairs into the back of the black SR102 modem, is this ok or will it cause issues and reduce the speed or cause interference? I read somewhere that it would.

      I was thinking about moving the modem back downstairs and just use the phone wire that came with it to plug it into the faceplate and have a cat6e cable running from the modem to the room instead as I heard that would be better and stop any interference? would this make much of a difference, the cable I see on ebay is this one - 15m RJ45 Cat6 Network Ethernet Cable Lead GIGABIT Patch UTP Snagless LSOH LSZH | eBay which seems really cheap... I would probably have to run 2 of them upstairs from the modem into different rooms.

      what's your thoughts? will it make any difference?

      also is the ADSL faceplate ok or should I change it to something else? and if you know of any good reasonable priced cables then please let me know.

      Thanks

      JJ


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Generally speaking the closer the modem/router is to the phone point the better the performance. You will loose less speed using an ethernet cable. You could use a switch upstairs if you require more than one connection. The are not very expensive.

      With regards the faceplate, the latest vDSL plate will give better performance than the old ADSL one, but how much, you will not know until you try it. Bear in mind that the vDSL plate is not a faceplate and requires the original NTE5 faceplate to e fitted over it. So if you have lost the old faceplate you will have to get a new one, which will probably mean buying a full NTE5.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      dragon18007 (06-01-15)

    5. #3
      dragon18007's Avatar
      dragon18007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Thanks

      What do you mean by a switch? sorry for sounding stupid

      JJ

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      A 'Network Switch' is what is meant.

      http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...network+%2Caps

      The main type for the domestic market is a non-intelligent switch. You can have a 5-Port or 8-Port version that can run at up to 100mb or 1GBit.

      Since switches tend to last a long time without any issues, I would suggest a 1Gbit version with perhaps 8 ports. Sue the Sky router only supports 100mb over the LAN, but if you upgrade at a later date then you're already covered.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      dragon18007 (06-01-15)

    8. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      You can also use an old router as a switch if you have one, but a switch does not need any setting up. Instructions on setting up an old router can be found here -
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      dragon18007 (06-01-15)

    10. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Sue the Sky Router ?

      Is that a spinoff from Thomas the Tank Engine ?


    11. #7
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      No, Henry the Home Hub.

    12. #8
      dragon18007's Avatar
      dragon18007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Thanks for the info, I'm sure I have an old Sagemcom 2304N router from sky that I used before moving to fibre so I will give that a try and see if I can get it working as a switch.

      Will using a switch or another router as a switch cause any speed reductions etc for computers attached to it as 1 Ethernet cable from the main hub will be going into an additional bit of equipment (switch/router) for then other Ethernet cables from there to provide internet to 2 pcs?

      Just trying to get my head around it all.

      Appreciate the help

      Thanks
      JJ

    13. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      There should be no affect on how fast your devices communicate over the Internet, other than any difference in the WiFi speed between the two routers.

      The Sagem 2304n is limited to 72mbps, whereas the SR102 can work at up to 144mbps. Of course your devices need to support the higher speed too and not all will on a single channel.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      dragon18007 (06-01-15)

    15. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 15m Ethernet cable or RJ11 cable better for fiber?

      Probably better disabling the wireless in the second router, unless you really need it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    16. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      dragon18007 (06-01-15)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION