Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22
    Like Tree1Likes

    Whats the cable called....

    This is a discussion on Whats the cable called.... within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can someone tell me the name of the cable that fits from the master socket to the Sky Hub? The ...

    1. #1
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Whats the cable called....

      Can someone tell me the name of the cable that fits from the master socket to the Sky Hub? The one that fits to the microfilter, and other end fits to the Sky Hub to provide internet (not phone cable). Is it a RJ11 to RJ11?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      Yes it's RJ11 to RJ11, however if you have (or get) a filtered faceplate you can use RJ11 to RJ45.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      I have a filtered faceplate from ADSL nation. Which cable would be better? Or both same performance wise?

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      The XTE uses an RJ45 socket too, we would recommend the vDSL cables we have.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      The ADSL Nation faceplate I have has 2 sockets, one for a telephone, and the RJ11 sized one. So I think it would need to be RJ11 to RJ11? I'm also after a black cable instead of the standard grey one. Do you sell black good quality RJ11 cables? Or would the VDSL one you mentioned still work?

      PS my master socket is this one

      http://www.adslnation.com/products/xte2005.php

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      The XTE that they sold used to have RJ45 sockets as do all faceplates, can you verify that? Just take an Ethernet lead if you have one (?) and plug it in. The vDSL one I mentioned uses CAT5 cable which is the best really, we only have them in white I'm afraid. We could do black but that would be CW1308 cable (still a much better cable than the flat types supplied with modems).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      Is the RJ45 the ones that fit into devices like PS3 etc

    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      Yes, goes between your routers Ethernet ports & the devices.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #9
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      Just tried an RJ45 and it fitted which suprised me as never knew it would lol! So a vDSL cable would be better for Fibre? and a black one would be better than the generic one sky supplies? Where would I find a good quality Black vDSL cable? Thanks in advance.

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Whats the cable called....

      vDSL spec is what you want for fibre, what length cable do you need? We only have them in white sorry but I can see if we can make one in black. Any twisted pair cable is better than the one supplied with the modems/routers.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION