Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By RUNITDIRECT

    In Trouble with OR?

    This is a discussion on In Trouble with OR? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Has anyone on this forum heard of any customers being fined/in trouble with OR for fiddling with OR's equipment before ...

    1. #1
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      In Trouble with OR?

      Has anyone on this forum heard of any customers being fined/in trouble with OR for fiddling with OR's equipment before their demarcation point (in my case being the NTE5 socket)?

      The reason I ask is because I am concerned about a make shift job that has been done post an accident with a friend (builder) we had in. He accidentally pulled the cable out of the wall to the master socket (thinking it was a redundant cable). He did repair his error, but I am concerned that in the future, if we ever need an OR engineer out again, we may be in trouble due to the 'obvious' end user interference.

      Please see attached photos:

      In Trouble with OR?-20140213_231122.jpg

      In Trouble with OR?-20140213_231249.jpg

      In Trouble with OR?-20140213_231304.jpg

      Just for extra clarification, that's the drop wire coming into the house - into the new (unknown brand?) junction box (there was one there before will gel-crimps?) and straight into the master socket on the other side of the wall.

      Thanks for any advice in advance.

      Liam


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      In Trouble with OR?

      There would be no way of OR proving this was done by yourself unless you have personally had them visit the premisses before and even then I am sure they do not keep a record of how all cabling is connected so you could just plead ignorance.

      I would not imagine it in their interest to try and chase you for payment when repairing this type of cabling is an everyday job for their engineers.






      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Hedgehog1979 For This Useful Post:

      LiamMc03 (14-02-14)

    5. #3
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: In Trouble with OR?

      They have visited before and the most recent one (whom didn't seem that interested in solving the problem) did point up there, as there were some wires hanging out - I tidied it up a bit afterwards. He didn't say anything though - I was hoping he would replace it. :P

    6. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: In Trouble with OR?

      Why on earth is the orange gel crimped to a short blue wire?! Or is it my eyes? If you are really concerned replace that socket for a BT80A. They will never know. & you can do away with that gel crimp!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      LiamMc03 (14-02-14)

    8. #5
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: In Trouble with OR?

      It was the original one going to the master socket - he forgot to cut them off. There was two, but when I was tidying it up yesterday, I cut the other one off. Trying to remove part of the plastic to expose the copper in such a confined/difficult to reach area was one of the most annoying things I've come across so far in this year - so I think I'll leave it for a while until I attempt the other one. I'm sure I can purchase the BT80A from your store?

      Purchased your VDSL plate last week as my fibre went live today. Thanks btw!

      My stats:



      In Trouble with OR?-untitled-1.jpg

    9. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: In Trouble with OR?

      Yep we have the BT 80A. You could use a BT 77A which is IDC so no need to strip the cable but the 80A is the normal one to go on the drop wire.
      LiamMc03 likes this.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #7
      LiamMc03's Avatar
      LiamMc03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      343
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: In Trouble with OR?

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Yep we have the BT 80A. You could use a BT 77A which is IDC so no need to strip the cable but the 80A is the normal one to go on the drop wire.
      Well, really pleased with the switch over today as far as BB goes. We now have a fault on the line (affecting only the Sky Talk service). We can make phone calls - but the other party can't hear us. Anyone phoning our landline hears a ringing tone but our phone doesn't ring.

      Have got OR coming out within 72hrs and Sky are diverting all calls to a mobile.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION