Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Extension Advice Needed

    This is a discussion on Extension Advice Needed within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm awaiting being set up with Sky Fibre Unlimited - it's self install now. Currently my master socket is ...

    1. #1
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extension Advice Needed

      Hi,

      I'm awaiting being set up with Sky Fibre Unlimited - it's self install now.

      Currently my master socket is fitted with one of the new Openreach faceplates (With the RJ11 at the top - I'm assuming this is a VDSL one?), and has an extension (1), phone and Sky box connected to it.

      I plan to move the master socket (I've read up on the implications) which shouldn't be an issue. I then want to wire an extension from the new master, to the old master location to connect the existing connections back up.

      What are my options for this? Can I take a filtered extension from my NTE5/Openreach faceplate so I won't need a microfilter on the new extension? If possible I would like to hard wire the existing extension (1) and/or the Sky box.

      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      No problem doing it. You won't need a plug in filter as the faceplate will be doing the filtering.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      Hi,
      Thanks for your reply. Is it possible to get extension sockets that have internal IDC blocks to add addition extensions (e.g. for hard wiring my Sky box)?
      I was looking at this: BT Secondary Socket Faceplate - LJU3/3A

    5. #4
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      Hi,
      Thanks. Is it possible to get an extension socket that has internal IDC connections for additional extensions (e.g. for hard wiring Sky TV)? I was looking at the LJU3/3A that run-IT-direct sell.

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      The LJU3/3A is a secondary socket that fits a standard single gang back box, you just wire that up to the NTE5 and no longer need plug in filters as the vDSL plate filters them Yes, it's an IDC connector socket...
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      The LJU3/3A is a secondary socket that fits a standard single gang back box, you just wire that up to the NTE5 and no longer need plug in filters as the vDSL plate filters them Yes, it's an IDC connector socket...
      Does the LJU3/3A have additional IDC connectors to connect another extension internally? So that I could daisy chain another LJU3/3A from the first.

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      You just punch down twice on the IDC block. IDC's will take 3 sets of wires. Ideally use a pro IDC tool....
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      Ah, I didn't realise that was "allowable". I already have a Krone tool. Thanks

    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      No problem at all with it, it's the only way you can do a daisy chain layout!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #10
      Atrak's Avatar
      Atrak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension Advice Needed

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      No problem at all with it, it's the only way you can do a daisy chain layout!!
      Thanks for your help, I ordered the required from you last week and got it all fitted no problem

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION