Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

    This is a discussion on Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, it's been a while since I've been on here. I've recently moved and just had sky tv installed at ...

    1. #1
      skotbites's Avatar
      skotbites is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lofthouse Gate
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      Hi, it's been a while since I've been on here.

      I've recently moved and just had sky tv installed at my address and have an appointment for and engineer to come out next week to install fibre (BTO?)
      My problem/query is in my new living room I have one telephone style socket on the skirting board with 'Yorkshire Cable' printed on it. from unscrewing this and having a little look there appeared to be 3 main white wires in this 2 of which have been cut and the other I presume goes to to the upstairs bedroom.

      There is a BT master socket type box on the livingroom window sill but there are no sockets to insert anything into. On further investigation it looks like the feed to this from outside the window has been cut presumable by whoever was in the house previously (there is a larger white 'Cable & Wireless' box in the main bedroom also.

      When BTO come next week will they try and charge me for a non standard install? if so can i actually choose where they place the master socket? As Ideally in the office upstairs would be better.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      Sky don't normally send out an engineer to install fibre now, its all done 'self install' I rather think the engineer will be coming to install the phone if you do not have an active one. If that is the case, the engineer will usually install it where you want, within reason. If you have paid extra for an engineer install, then I would think you will get 2 visits, one to put in the phone and another from the fibre engineer. BTO engineers work is very 'compartmented' so one engineer is unlikely to cover all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      skotbites's Avatar
      skotbites is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lofthouse Gate
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      I've had a look outside the house and there is a wire to the house from the telegraph pole but then once at the house the cable stops and you can see the clips where it once was.

      I've paid 20 'New Phone Line Installation' and 2.18 'Broadband Hardware Postage'

      Hopefully that covers it and I can have them fit the master socket in the spare room (office) where the router will be situated.

      I can then change the face plate to a filtered one I presume.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      Sky now have a service agreement with Openreach that during the original install the customer can ask for the socket to be installed anywhere and if Openreach say there will be extra charges these are charged to Sky but not passed onto the customer.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      I've paid 20 'New Phone Line Installation' and 2.18 'Broadband Hardware Postage'
      The postage is for the modem/router so you have self install, nothing to do with the phone engineer..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      skotbites's Avatar
      skotbites is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lofthouse Gate
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The postage is for the modem/router so you have self install, nothing to do with the phone engineer..
      I understand that part and I'm sure it's not difficult.

      I didn't want the engineer turning up next Wednesday and trying to charge us more or say they can't do it.

      Cheers

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help and advice on new Sky Fibre + Sky Talk Install

      See if you can talk the engineer into fitting a BT iPlate. If he wont, then you should fit one yourself, its very easy and is much better than the plug in filters supplied by Sky. GENUINE BT NTE5 vDSL Filtered Faceplate|Openreach&#8482 Branded

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION