Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Help - Confused

    This is a discussion on Help - Confused within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I spoke to a tech person at sky today, he made me un-screw my master socket and told me ...

    1. #1
      liverpool's Avatar
      liverpool is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help - Confused

      Hi, I spoke to a tech person at sky today, he made me un-screw my master socket and told me to put my micro-filter in the 'test socket' and he said this should improve my stability.

      this has worked, iv had a connection for about 4 hours with decent 3-4 meg speed. so to my questions,

      1) can i leave my micro-filter in the test socket?
      2) i can't leave the socket without the bottom plate, so do i need to buy the NTE-2005 plate which everybody is recommending.
      3) im worried, if i buy the NTE-2005, do i need to anything complicated with the wires in the socket, or do i just screw this on?

      thanks any help appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Liverpool

      When you unscrewed the faceplate was there any wires attached to it on the left hand side?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      jameseb's Avatar
      jameseb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanishan SWLNI
      Broadband ISP: Connect - but soon Max (4/1/06)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      174
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi liverpool

      Its ok to leave your microfilter in the test socket if you are ok with having the socket exposed etc! for me it would be a problem cos of my pets so i would go for a nte-2005 replacement to make it all neat and tidy! I havent done it myself but im sure the people on ere would be able to sort you out with advice for fitting one its supposed to be nice an easy.
      Арте́льный горшо́к гу́ще кипи́т. (Moral: Working as a team produces better results!)

      имейте большое рождество и С Новым годом (have a great christmas and a happy new year )

      Dont ya just love russian proverbs!

      J-ames

    5. #4
      liverpool's Avatar
      liverpool is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Hi Liverpool

      When you unscrewed the faceplate was there any wires attached to it on the left hand side?

      Hi, no cables attached to it (i think, as i cant see behind the test socket, as i have to un screw the face for that) there are wires there which are not attached to nothing beside the test socket.

      can i leave it like that or get a plate to fit around the test socket?

      the plate which everyone is recommending on the site, will that better my connection? or my speed?
      cheers

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      On the faceplate, that you removed, if there is no wires attached to that, then when you get your new face plate, just replace the one you took off with that, thats it!
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      liverpool's Avatar
      liverpool is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      but i removed the bottom half of the face plate?...at this moment iv plugged my microfilter in the test socket, can i i buy a bottom face plate that will fit into the master socket?

      or do i need to remove the top half also of the plate to see if any wires are attached to it.

    8. #7
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Yes you can the bottom half is what is classed as the faceplate. The whole thing is the socket.

    9. #8
      liverpool's Avatar
      liverpool is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      im confused, do i need to buy a 'new faceplate' that will fit around me being plugged into the test socket? or do i need to buy a new whole front cover?

    10. #9
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      you could buy one of these, it is a new faceplate follow the link in the thread and all sould beocme clear http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5021

    11. #10
      liverpool's Avatar
      liverpool is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks for ur help

      I've seen that before, but is that not the 'whole' socket plate, or am i confused and that picture is the bottom face plate.

      i read that and got worried, as it mentions i will have to move wires and etc

      will that apply to me?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION