Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 2 Post By RUNITDIRECT

    VDSL facplate

    This is a discussion on VDSL facplate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I just want to check that this Nte5 is wired correctly and if i can add a VDSL faceplate ...

    1. #1
      S7DKJ's Avatar
      S7DKJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Longfiled
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VDSL facplate

      Hi

      I just want to check that this Nte5 is wired correctly and if i can add a VDSL faceplate onto it. I have no extensions just the master socket and it is wired via the 2 screw connections at the back of the fixed plate 1 blue and 1 white. Do any of the other wires need to be connected to add the VDSL faceplate or is it a straight plug in?

      Also which is the best VDSL plate to get for sky fibre that fits the master socket.

      Photos of socket below.

      Thanks

      Dean

      VDSL facplate-socket-1.jpgVDSL facplate-socket-2.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      The VDSL Interstitial Plate, to give it its proper name, does not require wiring of any kind. It slips between the removable face plate and the body of the socket. As you have no extensions it is debatable whether the expense is justified in your case. One of its main functions is to isolate the internal wiring from the ADSL signal, in your case you have no wires to isolate, so you may get just as good a result with a plug in filter. The advantage in your case would be mainly cosmetic.

      If you do decide to get an iPlate it is better to buy from a reputable source like RunitDirect I would not trust the cheaper options offered on eBay.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      S7DKJ (10-01-14)

    5. #3
      S7DKJ's Avatar
      S7DKJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Longfiled
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      That's great thanks. I wouldn't buy from ebay anyway I can imagine it being a disaster.

      Thanks again

    6. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      Just a note, we have the new Mk2 versions of the vDSL faceplate due in soon The website will be updated once we have them. The new faceplate had filtering for the new frequency range for faster speeds in the future & also an RF choke which can improve line stability so may well be worthwhile.
      Isitme and Scubbie like this.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #5
      S7DKJ's Avatar
      S7DKJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Longfiled
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Just a note, we have the new Mk2 versions of the vDSL faceplate due in soon The website will be updated once we have them. The new faceplate had filtering for the new frequency range for faster speeds in the future & also an RF choke which can improve line stability so may well be worthwhile.
      thanks for that. I'm gutted though as I just bought one from you in Friday.

      Oh oh well may update once you get them in.

      Thanks

    8. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      Sorry about the bad timing, the Mk2 versions are in stock now.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #7
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      Sorry to hijack the thread.

      If I fit a vdsl faceplate (I have a phone extension), will

      - would a ~10m cat5e cable from faceplate to router be massively performance affecting ( my master socket stats dl are 39994 kbps sych, atten: 15.7 dB, margin, 16.3 dB and ul 10000 kbps, atten 0db, margin 16.16 db - Sky FTTC 38/10 )

      - it work for standard ADSL (more out of interest than a need)

      Just trying to work out whether to drill through a wall or run a long dsl cable to move the router nearer a power source!

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: VDSL facplate

      Provided that you do a good job with the crimped connectors (RJ11) at each end, there should be very little problem with this.

      When BTO were doing the installation they would carry a roll of Cat 5e cable and cut a length of up to 30m when required for exactly what you are asking.

      Do make sure that you don't get the cheap and nasty Cat 5e cable (there is some around) as that may affect the connection speed more easily. The copper core should be solid to fit the crimps. I would not recommend or use Cat 6 cable as this is a little OTT for the task you are doing.

      Also, when routing the cable, ensure that you don't make it do any sharp bends and curl it around corners. Do use the right size cable clips so that you don't 'pinch' the cable. Finally ensure that the cable does not run under any carpet or any other area where people walk without suitable protection over it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #9
      batch_2001's Avatar
      batch_2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks!
      Last edited by batch_2001; 15-01-14 at 10:35 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION