Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Hey All, FacePlate Question

    This is a discussion on Hey All, FacePlate Question within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, Been looking at this site since September, when i got Sky BB , And has been one of the ...

    1. #1
      DEADLY9996's Avatar
      DEADLY9996 is offline Junior Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hey All, FacePlate Question

      Hey,

      Been looking at this site since September, when i got Sky BB, And has been one of the most helpful and informative sites i have have ever been on! Great Work

      Well i had the disconnect probs but manage to fix it with DingDongs Fix, but i ran into problems 2 weeks after that, slow Webpage loading (Very Slow) i even had to refresh numerous times just to load a page!.
      Got onto Sky, and the only thing the guy came up with after about 45 mins was the extension cable from my phone socket in the other bedroom to my router (RJ44?? or something like it, you know what i mean (10m))
      He also wanted me to try the Master Socket, but i had no chance to try it at that point, so that was it until i connected the the Master Socket. However later i managed to find a 10M Ethernet cable, wired it up to the MS to find not much of an improvement. Then i started getting disconnected every 30 -60mins on Webpages!

      Got home Today, read more posts and tried the Test Socket (Perfect) from 3700-4000kb All the way upto 7700kb!!! And NO disconnects!

      Anyways, been reading up more on the Master Socket etc, this is my question (few finally =p) Got a new Faceplate (Well ordered) XTE 2005, would i just have to wire up this as it says and it will work fine straight off??
      OR will have to to lose those cables that cause the RF interference aswell??.

      Since i have 1 BT Box in the bedroom which won't work while using the test socket, it might not be required since i suppose i could get a long cable and plug that phone into the master socket as well. But once this faceplates on and i remove the RF connectors (Or whatever they are) will they include the one for the extention socket upstairs?? Or is that all seperate.

      On another note, i have 2 phones and Sky box plugged into the master socket as well, if i added the other phone would it work ok???
      Since to me it has alot connected to it.


      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      The only real way to find out is to try once you have it fitted, I removed the orange cables so there was no way I could have interference
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Yes - you just swap the NTE5 faceplate for the filtered one. This should eliminate all local noise sources e.g. it shouldn't be necessary to remove the ringwire.

      The reason your extension in the bedroom stopped working is that by removing the NTE5 faceplate you disconnected it. When you fit the new faceplate you'll need to wire up the extension to it. For this you'll need a Krone tool - they cost about 1. The wires are push fit but need this tool to do a proper job. I expect the new socket will come with instructions but if you get problems there are plenty of guides on the net - or post back here.

      The new faceplate will give you one (unfiltered) socket for the router and one (filtered) socket for phones. You can plug as many as you like into this up to the REN limit.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      The only real way to find out is to try once you have it fitted, I removed the orange cables so there was no way I could have interference
      You need to be just a bit careful talking about removing "the orange cable" Newsreader. There's no rule that ensures the twisted pair are always blue/whites and the ringwire orange. In any event, the ringwire is likely to be orange with white rings - it will always be connected to terminal 3 in a NTE5 though.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      ^ point taken
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      DEADLY9996's Avatar
      DEADLY9996 is offline Junior Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ahh thanks, i'll let u know how it goes.


      btw My Internet Light flickers every few secs, whats that mean?...it used to be solid

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      the internet light flickers when your browsing/downloading/uploading ???

    9. #8
      DEADLY9996's Avatar
      DEADLY9996 is offline Junior Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No just every couple of secs, wether i'm using the internet or not

    10. #9
      broadbandjockey's Avatar
      broadbandjockey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke (THBZ)
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Basingstoke, Hants
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    11. #10
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by DEADLY9996 View Post
      No just every couple of secs, wether i'm using the internet or not
      Mine does too - I think it is normal behaviour. There must be a small regular burst of data whether or not you are surfing or downloading.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION