Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

    This is a discussion on How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not really, they both do the same thing but are different....

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Not really, they both do the same thing but are different.

      How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable-30a-terminal-block-strip_medium.jpg
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      radlord's Avatar
      radlord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      ah, one of those! I might pop down to Maplin and have a look then. So long as whatever one I use will be suitable. I'm hoping for a modest speed gain out of this. Cheers.

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      As you are only using white/blue and blue/white in your picture, I would question whether or not you would get a speed gain TBH

      Normally if the orange (bell wire) was in the equation, then disconnecting that could help, as it stops noise / interference etc

      You may or not get a difference on balance.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Either replace the junction box with a new version such as a BT80A or use jelly crimps. That is what an Openreach engineer would do! While BT officially say you can't touch any of that an Openreach engineer would not be bothered if you have used the items they would have used. Just make sure the cable you are using is CW1308 or CAT5e, NOT cheap copper clad steel/aluminium.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      I am not sure that you will see any difference using Cat5e. You appear to already have CW1308 cable connected and this will perform just as well. Replacing the old 'protector' junction box may help, but as the 'protector fuses' have already been by-passed, this is debatable. Replacing it with a BT80a will certainly look better. I would suggest that you just make a temporary connection initially, to test whether you actually get any improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      radlord's Avatar
      radlord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Yep that's what I've done, I've kept stuff in place for now and just brought the cable up to the junction box and connected it to the drop wire with a couple of jelly crimps seemingly identical to the ones runitdirerct linked to.

      Only now the internet speed is a tenth of what it was before, and we get no dial tone or ring from the phone. So the experiment cannot be deemed a success haha.

      Anyone know why this is? It seems to be connected right. There is a red and a black cable on the drop cable side of the connection, does it matter which cable I connect this to on the Cat5? Also does it matter which terminal inside the faceplate I punch down the blue/white and blue wires into?

      Cheers!
      Last edited by radlord; 13-08-12 at 11:29 AM.

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Also does it matter which terminal inside the faceplate I punch down the blue/white and blue wires into?
      The wires from the red / black should go to the back of the master box, not the crimp bits on the faceplate. The crimp bits are for the extension which you haven't got, if that makes sense.

      If you take the back bit off, you should see the wires going back upstairs, these would normally be screwed in and not crimped.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #18
      radlord's Avatar
      radlord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Right, OK... the wires are definitely inserted into the IDC bits on the actual box, not the front plate.

      I thought the jelly crimps were replacing the black clips I had to cut off that you can see in the photos ... there isn't enough red/black cable to run to the back of the master socket. Basically I need to attach the red and black wires to the blue / blue-white wires in the cat5 cable...

      I thought I had done this but seemingly I haven't done it correctly as the speed is so slow. it's reliable, but synced at 1mbps instead of 11 as it used to be. Plus as I say the phone aint working.

      The cable is definitely not inserted into the faceplate....

    10. #19
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      If I have understood, you are extending the red / black wire from the bathroom to the front room with new cable?

      So jelly crimp red to blue/white and black to white/blue (the new cable running to front room) then connect the other end of the blue/white and white/blue to the back of the master socket in the front room. Is that what you have tried?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #20
      radlord's Avatar
      radlord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect new Cat5e wiring to drop cable

      Yep, though cant remember what colour cables are connected to which, I cant imagine it matters though.

      The red and black cable is quite thick though and wont quite push all the way into the crimp like the thinner cat5 strands do...

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION