Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky say use Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Sky say use Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi My connection keeps dropping and sky say use the main socket and buy an adaptor for my PC and ...

    1. #1
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky say use Master Socket

      Hi
      My connection keeps dropping and sky say use the main socket and buy an adaptor for my PC and if that doesn't resolve the problem phone them back and they will look into the noise margins.

      Previously had a Netgear 834G router running at 8MB with no problems at all from my office extension.

      Am reluctant to pay out for an adaptor if unnecessary.

      I would be v. grateful for any suggestions here.
      Allison


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      MaryHinge's Avatar
      MaryHinge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Plugging the router into the master socket can help reduce problems due to poor internal wiring or RFI interference. A high proportion of line drops and instability is caused by the "ring wire" which is unbalanced and effectively acts as an aerial dumping RFI back onto the main pair from the exchange.

      For best speed and reliability it is necessary to ensure the ADSL signal is separated at the master socket, thereby isolating it from the ring wire. The alternative is to disconnect the ring wire althogether from the master socket as modern phones do not usually require it.

      For more info see here: http://yarwell.blogspot.com/2005_08_...l_archive.html

    4. #3
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by MaryHinge View Post
      Plugging the router into the master socket can help reduce problems due to poor internal wiring or RFI interference. A high proportion of line drops and instability is caused by the "ring wire" which is unbalanced and effectively acts as an aerial dumping RFI back onto the main pair from the exchange.

      For best speed and reliability it is necessary to ensure the ADSL signal is separated at the master socket, thereby isolating it from the ring wire. The alternative is to disconnect the ring wire althogether from the master socket as modern phones do not usually require it.

      For more info see here: http://yarwell.blogspot.com/2005_08_...l_archive.html

      I just opened up my master socket and it doesn't look anything like as neat and tidy as the diagram.... i'm surprised I get any line at all.
      I only have orange/white and blue lines connected. The green wires are disconnected.

      I have just noticed that the signal strength of this machine (another desktop with an adapter) is showing as very good. This was always in the past shown as "poor" strength even when i considered we had a good connection before my move to sky.

      Do you think that this perhaps does suggest that my socket in the office is bad?

      Thanks

      Allison

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Is it a master socket, that you can see?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I thought it was but maybe not then... it certainly doesn't look like the picture.
      Will find out.
      Thanks
      Allison

    7. #6
      qa1711's Avatar
      qa1711 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dringhouses
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky say use Master Socket

      I have just joined the forum after being rerouted when searching for a definition of noise margin, and am now sitting in front of my computer with a smirk on my face. After reading about solutions regarding the master socket, I took the plunge and installed a new B & Q face plate containg seperate adsl and tel connections. I also disconnected and cut all the wires coming into the master socket except 2 + 5, then linked a short cable to 2 + 5 on my new face plate. My download speed has gone from an average 4800kbps to an average 8400kbps, and on occasions has even registered over 1000kbps.
      THANKS!!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION