Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    BT did not replace faceplate

    This is a discussion on BT did not replace faceplate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am not sure if this is an issue or not, but I have an ADSL v1.0 faceplate I ...

    1. #1
      btharper's Avatar
      btharper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT did not replace faceplate

      Hi,

      I am not sure if this is an issue or not, but I have an ADSL v1.0 faceplate I purchased from Clarity about 7 years ago, to remove the need to filter every extension in the house.

      I've recently had Sky Fibre Broadband installed, and I was was under the impression they would replace the existing faceplate. However, the OR did not, and simply plugged in the vDSL modem. Am I not sure if this makes any difference, but are the old and new faceplates affectively the same or should I chase this up.

      My speed is reasonable, given my distance from the cabinet, although I think the DLM is still messing around as the Sync has dropped to 22Mbs from the original 30Mbs and now seems to be capped at 25Mbs (sync speed 24999).

      Any thoughts appreciated.

      Thanks,
      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      That is strange. Until now everyone who has had SFU installed has had a new vDSL filtered faceplate installed. In some cases the BTO Engineer has also replaced the existing NTE5 socket with a new one too.

      As for your connection speed, what was the estimate provided when you order SFU?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      I think I would be complaining, the new filters for VDSL are much more efficient. I think you have been unlucky enough to pull a very lazy engineer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      btharper's Avatar
      btharper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      Hi Scubbie,

      I thought it strange too.

      2 OR engineers turned up and 1 looked at the faceplate and said "That will do," and then plugged in the vDSL router, plugged the Sky router in. The other engineer then asked to see iPlayer. All in all about 5-10 minutes.

      I wasn't expecting any great speeds, as Sky's estimate was around 22-23 Mbs so not far off what I am achieving. Although, it goes without saying, I'd like to extract as much speed as possible!

      Ben

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      Sadly some BTO engineers are not too good, I've experienced them myself recently (8 visits & counting & fault still not fixed!). You should have a VDSL faceplate installed if on the new services.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      btharper's Avatar
      btharper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      Thanks, I'll give Sky a call and see what they say.

      Ben

    8. #7
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      will be interested to see if you get a gain
      as i have been consdering a vdsl faceplate

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      will be interested to see if you get a gain
      as i have been consdering a vdsl faceplate
      Knowing what your connection stats are, it is unlikely that you will gain much more in your connection stats.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      btharper's Avatar
      btharper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've spoken to the Sky Fibre team and they confirmed that OpenReach should have installed a replacement vDSL faceplate. However, they want to check with OR before taking any action.

      Personally, I would prefer the new faceplate as it provides better separation between the DSL line and my internal telephone extensions.

      I assume I can't use a standard ADSL filter to connect the vDSL modem to the test socket? If not the only way I can test is to remove the wires from the existing faceplate, which I'd rather not have to do.

      Doesn't OpenReach own the faceplate?

      Ben

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT did not replace faceplate

      Your existing ADSL v1 faceplate does separate the vDSL signal, but a proper vDSL faceplate will perform the job even better.

      Dave from run-IT-direct has commented on the number of ADSL customers who have noticed an improvement on their connection speeds. His firm does stock the vDSL faceplate. If BTO refuse to fit one for you, then you could consider getting one from him and charging Sky for parts & labour.

      It is a BTO design and once fitted it becomes your property.

      As for using microfilters, BTO have recently performed some trials with some customers to see if there is any benefit in using a similar system to installing FTTC as they have been with ADSL & ADSL2+. The current system is labour intensive and requires BTO to visit everyone's home in order to set up an FTTC connection. This means that appointments need to be made and kept.

      It is important to understand the like ADSL2+ is more vulnerable to poor line quality than ADSL is, vDSL is even more vulnerable to poor quality lines than ADSL2+. So it really is important to get the best filter system.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION