Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

    This is a discussion on ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am thinking of fitting a faceplate filter to try and improve my broadband speed but the existing wiring is ...

    1. #1
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      I am thinking of fitting a faceplate filter to try and improve my broadband speed but the existing wiring is confusing me! The incoming BT cable has orange, white, green and black wires terminating in a small plastic junction box just inside my property. The green and black wires are not connected to anything but the orange and white are connected to my BT faceplate (looks like quite an old one), via the junction box, but using blue and orange wires for some reason. In other words, there are only two wires connected to the faceplate. The wiring appears to be quite old- if my memory serves me correctly a BT engineer looked at it a good number of years ago when I was having connection problems. I'm not really sure what the green and black BT wires are for.
      My question is can a ADSL faceplate be fitted with this wiring setup or do I need a complete rewire involving BT? If I can do so, I presume it would obviate the need for separate ADSL filters, which I have at the moment.
      My exchange checker says my max line speed is 5 mb and at the moment I am getting around 3.9, sometimes 4mb.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      Athough there may be 4 or more wires in the incoming cable, only 2 are used. If you intend to fit a new NTE5, these wires are connected to the A and B terminals on the back of the line box, not the faceplate..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      As above the pair in use connects to the rear of the NTE5, you then connect any extensions for telephones to 2, 3 & 5 on the rear of the ADSL faceplate. If you want to run an extension for a router(better to plug into the master socket if possible) then this connects to A & B on the rear of the ADSL faceplate.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      I understand that fitting your own NTE5 is a no no, only BT can do it. Is this correct? If I can fit one myself I am happy to have a go, or is it a really fiddly job?

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      Two wires!!, if you are really worried about BT (who really won't be bothered!) then fit the Openreach branded one we have! BT's Indian call centres are telling end users they can fit their own master sockets these days! (& no, it ISN'T illegal to fit your own!).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      geoffwba (31-01-12)

    8. #6
      tazman007's Avatar
      tazman007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      Seriously, just do it. I bought a NTE5 socket and filtered faceplate from runitdirect last week, and replaced my old LJU master socket to the NTE5 one, took all of 5 minutes, and trust me I'm no expert DIYer!! Just make sure you get the proper tool to connect the wires and you'll sail through.

    9. #7
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      In view of Sky's announcement about fibre-optic broadband, I might just register my interest and see what happens, rather than fit a new master socket and faceplate myself. According to the BT infinity checker, fibre-optic is already available at my exchange.

    10. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: ADSL Faceplate filter enquiry- newbie query

      Not sure when Sky's product will be available but with Infinity you will get a new vDSL faceplate like this. These are backwards compatible with all ADSL services. If you do decide to DIY this is the tool you need.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION