Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 53
    Like Tree5Likes

    New BT vDSL faceplate available!

    This is a discussion on New BT vDSL faceplate available! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I posted this in the technical forum I think, but does anyone have an idea why the VDSL faceplate seems ...

    1. #41
      Aebleskiver's Avatar
      Aebleskiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      I posted this in the technical forum I think, but does anyone have an idea why the VDSL faceplate seems to perform worse than just using my XF-1e plugged into the test socket?
      The differences are small now, but I get about 14.3-14.4 down sync and with the faceplate, it only manages about 13.9 - I've managed to repeat these results too, so the filtering perhaps just isn't as good as the XF-1e...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Tom suggested some WD40 to help clean the contacts in the Test socket. Have you tried this and did it make any difference?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #43
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Just an update to this pretty old thread, we now have the latest Mk2 version of the vDSL faceplate available. Full details on the website as ever
      Scubbie likes this.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #44
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      276
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Bit confused. Currently got an XTE-2005 (from ADSLnation) which I've had for years with ADSL.

      Just upgraded to fibre and it all works through this.

      1. Is there any mileage at all in buying one of these?.
      2. Will it fit on existing?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    6. #45
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      The vDSL faceplate fits on to the original NTE5, unlike the faceplate you have now the original lower front half of the NTE5 then fits back on the vDSL faceplate-you can see a picture on our product page. The faceplate you currently have is not designed for the new vDSL frequencies (up to 30 Mhz, it now also features an RF choke to avoid noise issues & improve speed a stability further still).

      Yes the faceplate you have will work but customers have seen improvements when switching to the faceplates designed for the higher speeds.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #46
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      276
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      The vDSL faceplate fits on to the original NTE5, unlike the faceplate you have now the original lower front half of the NTE5 then fits back on the vDSL faceplate-you can see a picture on our product page. The faceplate you currently have is not designed for the new vDSL frequencies (up to 30 Mhz, it now also features an RF choke to avoid noise issues & improve speed a stability further still).

      Yes the faceplate you have will work but customers have seen improvements when switching to the faceplates designed for the higher speeds.
      Right. The original faceplate off the socket is long gone. All I've got now is the ADSLnation faceplate.

      So if I buy this what else do I need? Can I buy replacement original bit too?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    8. #47
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Yes, you'd need to buy an NTE5 too.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #48
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      276
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Yes, you'd need to buy an NTE5 too.
      Thanks for your help. Ordered.
      Scubbie likes this.
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    10. #49
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Excellent, let us know if you need any help fitting etc. Your order will ship today so should be with you tomorrow.
      Scubbie likes this.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #50
      DigiBoxer's Avatar
      DigiBoxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121 Beacon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 + Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New BT vDSL faceplate available!

      Another thumbs up from me for run-IT-direct and their service. Ordered my vDSL faceplate from them a little while ago which arrived the following day, great product and finally fitted it today. Also fitted a brand new replacement BT NTE5 Master Socket (OK I know you're not *supposed* to do that, but the old one was yellow, cracked, covered in paint and looked an eyesore, the new one is nice and white and looks far more pleasing on the eye and just two wires, so not rocket science and confident enough - if BT ever ask, it wasn't me lol). All wired back up and used the hard wired A/B IDC connections to filter the DSL signal to the extensions and all works great. Rebooted the router and even on ADSL there has been a slight speed increase. Should be getting FTTC before the end of March (according to the BT checker), so I know now I am all ready to go for when I do!

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION