Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Finally got Sky to move master socket

    This is a discussion on Finally got Sky to move master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After reading many tales of frustrated sky broadband customers being frustrated by sky's apparent policy of refusing to facilitate the ...

    1. #1
      Justinlang's Avatar
      Justinlang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Finally got Sky to move master socket

      After reading many tales of frustrated sky broadband customers being frustrated by sky's apparent policy of refusing to facilitate the moving of the BT master socket, I can now report that I've been successful.

      It took the threat of moving my line rental back to BT (who had confirmed they would move it if I moved back to them) before sky would play ball, even though they still tried to guide me down the "let's see what we can do to improve the speed and you won't need to make the move".

      I used to get c. 12 Mbps a couple of years ago but this dropped to 5 Mbps back in October that prompted my desire to move the master socket, which by now was hanging off the wall with the faceplate now stuck on using Sellotape as a result of stripping the screw hole threads.

      Sky eventually provisioned an Openreach engineer who was most helpful, and couldn't explain sky's reticence about sorting my request out before he mentioned that sky have to pay upfront for the engineer visit and therefore its possible they are loath to instruct an engineer as they will then have to recover this from the customer, which may not be easy once they find out how much it costs (c.130)

      Anyway, speed now up to 14mbps, and will hopefully sate my appetite for fast broadband until sky roll out fibre...


      ---
      I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.296800,-3.082433

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Justinlang For This Useful Post:

      xman (01-02-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      which by now was hanging off the wall with the faceplate now stuck on using Sellotape as a result of stripping the screw hole threads.
      Let's hope the engineer does not report the damage as 'customer mistreatment' and Sky add the BTO bill to your account.

      Some engineers will replace the master socket as a matter of course when called out to a fault. Some will even fit a filtered faceplate if they have one in their van. It is just your luck really.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #3
      Justinlang's Avatar
      Justinlang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Not sure if I made myself clear.

      Sky re well known for not helping if you want to move your master socket; they suggested I do it or get an independent contractor to do this which is not legal.

      Once I threatened to move back to BT, they eventually acquiesced and submitted a request to Openreach to turn up and sort it. They used the excuse that the socket was faulty rather than just move it- I was happy to pay for the work which has yet to be billed...


      ---
      I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.424997,-2.523515

    6. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Justinlang View Post
      Not sure if I made myself clear.

      Sky are well known for not helping if you want to move your master socket; they suggested I do it or get an independent contractor to do this which is not legal.
      It ISN'T ILLEGAL to DIY! It CAN be deemed against the T&C's of the line provision, reality - a BTO engineer will not know nor care. So long as the correct socket is used BTO have no issues.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      I cant believe people are willing to pay
      130 for a new socket

      Its a 5 min job and easier than fitting a plug

      Money for old rope

      A friend of mine
      was quoted over 300 for
      removal of 30m of excess bt cable

      I removed 30m of excess external cable
      and 15m of internal extension
      fitted an nte5 and an nte2000 for him
      and trippled his sync speed
      in around 15 mins

    8. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      I cant believe people are willing to pay
      130 for a new socket

      Its a 5 min job and easier than fitting a plug

      Money for old rope
      Exactly, & if you call BT's Indian call centre they will even tell you can DIY!!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #7
      xman's Avatar
      xman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Exactly, & if you call BT's Indian call centre they will even tell you can DIY!!!
      Late last night spoke to a very helpful Sky advisor - in a call centre surely here in the UK.

      My speed was around 2mbit and he asked me to check all sort of things until we got to moving the connection to the Test Socket and bang - he could see the speed increased to 7mbit...

      My master socket is not in the room where I have my Sky+ box, so having faster wifi would mean not having Anytime+...

      He then suggested that I "...get a new master socket from B&Q and since I am there perhaps move the cable to any room I need..."

      Interesting suggestion - the BT cable can actually be seen coming from the post all along the outside of the house and coming in to the very back of the house - connected to a socket with a "T" on it...

      Just joined this forum and happy to read I am not alone on this DIY socket upgrade boat...

    10. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      If you see a massive increase in the test socket then a new NTE5 with bell wire filter may help or better still an ADSL faceplate. Basically if the internal extensions are working they are either of poor quality and/or picking up noise.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      xman (02-02-12)

    12. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Finally got Sky to move master socket

      He then suggested that I "...get a new master socket from B&Q
      I would not advise that. If you want to change or move the socket get an Openreach branded one such as those supplied by Runitdirect. Provided you do not make a complete hash of it, BT will never know.
      NTE5 Master Socket - With Openreach&#8482 Logo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      xman (02-02-12)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION