Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 37

    Errors with different setups

    This is a discussion on Errors with different setups within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I cannot see the errors on my line with the sagem 2304n router, I have hooked a Billion 7800N ...

    1. #1
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Errors with different setups

      As I cannot see the errors on my line with the sagem 2304n router, I have hooked a Billion 7800N to my line to test all the different scenarios with my wiring.
      Sky have told me there are a lot of errors on my line so I am trying to eliminate the source(s) if they are present in my internal wiring.

      TEST ONE:

      Billion 7800N connected to test socket using sky supplied router cable and filter.

      Results are:

      > adsl info --stats
      adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 0
      Max: Upstream rate = 1020 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15236 Kbps
      Path: 0, Upstream rate = 798 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11992 Kbp

      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      TPS-TC: ATM Mode
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 7.5
      Attn(dB): 36.5 20.5
      Pwr(dBm): 1.5 10.6
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 93
      B: 74 18
      M: 1 4
      T: 5 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.1995 2.8862
      L: 3487 255
      D: 160 8
      Counters
      SF: 31108 28199
      SFErr: 3 23
      RS: 10110312 697368
      RSCorr: 2366 37
      RSUnCorr: 15 0

      HEC: 3 29
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 14276366 967163
      Data Cells: 20604 6071
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      AS: 505

      INP: 2.20 2.00
      PER: 16.21 17.85
      delay: 7.98 5.77
      OR: 32.06 44.34

      Bitswap: 13 12

      Total time = 8 min 47 sec
      FEC: 2366 37
      CRC: 3 23
      ES: 3 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 47 sec
      FEC: 2366 37
      CRC: 3 23
      ES: 3 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Latest 1 day time = 8 min 47 sec
      FEC: 2366 37
      CRC: 3 23
      ES: 3 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      FEC: 0 0
      CRC: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      Since Link time = 8 min 23 sec
      FEC: 2366 37
      CRC: 3 23
      ES: 3 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0
      >

      Could somone kindly let me know which errors I should be looking out for?
      And whether the stats above are indicating a good line?

      I will post another scenario soon.....


      Ironically the moment I put my Billion 7800N on the line, within 1 min Sky manually configured my line!!!!! I wait 2 weeks and they pick the exact moment I try my tests!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      CRC errors are uncorrected errors and are the most serious. This data needs to be resent in order to be useful.

      FEC errors are corrected errors, but you could argue that too many of them could be an issue waiting to happen.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      Total time = 20 min 15 sec
      FEC: 4247 47
      CRC: 4 23
      ES: 4 9
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0

      So the CRC is the one to look at.
      Is that okay after 20 mins?

    5. #4
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      TEST TWO

      This consists of the Billion 7800N router connected to the test socket via the supplied Sky filter BUT using my own router cable which was purchased from broadbandbuyer, it is a top rated Belkin RJ11 cable.

      I will post results after 20 mins:

      Total time = 20 min 13 sec
      FEC: 5584 1
      CRC: 6 0
      ES: 4 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 16
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0

      So the RJ11 cable is fine and can be used in my setup.
      Last edited by BroadbandKing; 08-12-11 at 11:51 AM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      The figures are not too bad at this moment. I would be inclined to leave it for at least a 24 hour period and look at the errors then.

      My most recent error stats are shown below:

      PHP Code:
      Total time 1 days 16 hours 54 min 48 sec
                      Down            Up
      FEC
      :            88294           301
      CRC
      :            198             5
      ES
      :             112             2
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            103             103
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0 

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      TEST THREE:

      Billion Router connected to test socket using sky filter and my RJ11 cable AND the phone extensions plugged into the filter:

      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      FEC: 2354 2
      CRC: 4 0
      ES: 4 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 0 0
      LOS: 0 0
      LOF: 0 0

      Phone extensions not a problem!
      Last edited by BroadbandKing; 08-12-11 at 01:03 PM.

    8. #7
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The figures are not too bad at this moment. I would be inclined to leave it for at least a 24 hour period and look at the errors then.

      My most recent error stats are shown below:

      PHP Code:
      Total time 1 days 16 hours 54 min 48 sec
                      Down            Up
      FEC
      :            88294           301
      CRC
      :            198             5
      ES
      :             112             2
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            103             103
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0 
      That is what I plan to do.
      Sky told me on the phone that when using the test socket, there was hardly any errors, but when I used my filtered faceplate, there was loads within a few mins.

      I have now fully carried out my tests on the test socket and I am happy with the results. My RJ11 cable is fine, the phone extensions are not causing a problem, I have been on the phone during that last 15 minute spell and on the web at the same time and it is fine.

      Now the next tests involve the filtered faceplate!!!!

      I have the old faceplate that has the kitchen phone wired behind AND I have a new one!

      So I will get things ready for the next test.....

    9. #8
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      TEST FOUR:

      Billion Router connected to the old filtered faceplate with the kitchen phone extension wired into the back. No other extensions connected to the front panel.

      I will post in 15 mins or so the results:

      One thing to notice is that the download max speed has decreased by using the faceplate:

      adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Retrain Reason: 1
      Max: Upstream rate = 1020 Kbps, Downstream rate = 14452 Kbps
      Path: 0, Upstream rate = 798 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11994 Kbps

      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      TPS-TC: ATM Mode
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 9.0
      Attn(dB): 36.5 20.4
      Pwr(dBm): 9.0 10.6
      Last edited by BroadbandKing; 08-12-11 at 01:03 PM.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      No problem. For reference my 15 minute sample was considerably higher than 4 errors, but only on the FEC. The CRC was clear.

      PHP Code:
                      Down            Up
      Latest 15 minutes time 
      9 min 58 sec
      FEC
      :            45              0
      CRC
      :            0               0
      ES
      :             0               0
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            0               0
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0
      Previous 15 minutes time 
      15 min 0 sec
      FEC
      :            52              0
      CRC
      :            0               0
      ES
      :             0               0
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            0               0
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0 

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Errors with different setups

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      No problem. For reference my 15 minute sample was considerably higher than 4 errors, but only on the FEC. The CRC was clear.

      PHP Code:
                      Down            Up
      Latest 15 minutes time 
      9 min 58 sec
      FEC
      :            45              0
      CRC
      :            0               0
      ES
      :             0               0
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            0               0
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0
      Previous 15 minutes time 
      15 min 0 sec
      FEC
      :            52              0
      CRC
      :            0               0
      ES
      :             0               0
      SES
      :            0               0
      UAS
      :            0               0
      LOS
      :            0               0
      LOF
      :            0               0
      LOM
      :            0               0 
      You have a good line.

      Results are:

      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      FEC: 2090 8
      CRC: 476 0
      ES: 18 0
      SES: 10 0
      UAS: 34 34
      LOS: 1 0
      LOF: 9 0

      So a lot more using the old filtered faceplate with the hard wired phone extension.
      Last edited by BroadbandKing; 08-12-11 at 01:04 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION