Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    first post

    This is a discussion on first post within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This my first post on this site so not sure if this is the right one but here goes anyway ...

    1. #1
      skybob's Avatar
      skybob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      first post

      This my first post on this site so not sure if this is the right one but here goes anyway . I`ve just checked the new anytime+ and what i`ve seen is that because i `ve got both sky movies i get sky anytime+ free witch is good but the problem is i don`t realy get the thing with the rooter. because i have to have it close to my skyplus box so that i can plug it into my rooter usesing my yellow ethernet cable witch is imposible because my sky+box is on one side of the room and rooter is on the other so how do sky expect me to do this the cable is only short and not long enough to reach.
      skybob


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: first post

      The one sky supply is really for router to pc.
      Any other equipment you connect you need to supply your own cable for.
      A longer one only costs a few buttons.
      10m Metre Ethernet CAT 5e RJ45 Network LAN Patch Cable Lead For PC PS3 Xbox 360 | eBay


    4. The Following User Says Thank You to dholdi For This Useful Post:

      skybob (29-11-11)

    5. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: first post

      .......or if you are mad or have money to burn pop into PCW and throw 25 at them.
      LOGIK LNT5E1511 Cat5e Ethernet Cable - 15m at cheap prices | PC World

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      skybob (29-11-11)

    7. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: first post

      Now that is silly money!

      The normal price range is around 5-7 at present from most other suppliers. Sadly many will be paying that price though.

      Years back I purchased some Scart leads from a shop in Shepards Market for about 5. The high street stores were selling them for about 15-20 each at the time.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      skybob (29-11-11)

    9. #5
      skybob's Avatar
      skybob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first post

      Hi mod just read a post that you had with someone else and he`s having all sorts of problems with is anytime+ and he`s in trouble with his wife and thats some thing you don`t want to be in.So realy is it worth it when you have to move your rooter or change cables what a pain in the bum. When you think about it you can always record a movie or what ever and watch at your leisure.

    10. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: first post

      Quote Originally Posted by skybob View Post
      So realy is it worth it when you have to move your rooter or change cables what a pain in the bum.
      Not sure where you are coming from here, you dont have to do either.
      There are a number of ethernet ports (usually 4 ) on the back of the router, so leave the router where it is plugged into the pc and get a longer cable which will be permanently plugged into the skybox.


    11. The Following User Says Thank You to dholdi For This Useful Post:

      skybob (30-11-11)

    12. #7
      skybob's Avatar
      skybob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: first post

      Will do thanks for your help

    13. #8
      madhatter007's Avatar
      madhatter007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: first post

      30M from the jungle for a few bob [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cat5e-RJ45-Ethernet-Network-Cable/dp/B000IAHNRK/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1323201939&sr=8-5]Cat5e RJ45 Ethernet LAN Network Cable UTP Lead 30M: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories[/ame]

    14. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: first post

      A 5M lead from a reputable company like Nexans is over double that price. There is a reason for that. In a recent test of so called CAT5e patch leads over 90% actually failed the compliance test, the market is flooded with cheap tat. Sure for your home network it will work, you probably will never know but if you want the best performance (which is most people on here seem to be trying to acheive)you will be looking at quite a bit more than that for a 30m lead.

      (for the record we don't even sell a 30m patch lead!).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION