Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Skybox connection to BT socket

    This is a discussion on Skybox connection to BT socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, my BT socket connnection is via the following adaptor The cable into it is just two wires, one ...

    1. #1
      Chippychap's Avatar
      Chippychap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Skybox connection to BT socket

      Hi Guys, my BT socket connnection is via the following adaptor



      The cable into it is just two wires, one orange and one white.
      They appeared go into the left and right connectors on the adaptor block.
      My wife dragged the thing out of the BT box and the wires out of the adaptor and has been disconnected for about a year.
      Can I buy these adaptors and from where?
      How are the white and orange wires connected, the adaptor block does lock the wires into place but which goes to left and viccy verki?
      Could this disconnection have caused a failure in the live pause/rewind feature on my Sky HD+?
      Not had any probs to date so had never got round to fixing it.
      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Skybox connection to BT socket

      If you only have one box and don't use Box Office much, just leave it disconnected. It will have nothing to do with your other problems.

      If you really want to connect it, I don't think it matters what side the wires go to. Try them one way, see if the box is connecting to the phone line and if it doesn't, swap them around. Make sure that it is plugged into a filter or your broadband will be badly effected, unless you have a filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Chippychap (28-11-11)

    5. #3
      Chippychap's Avatar
      Chippychap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skybox connection to BT socket

      Thank you so much for that.
      Can I buy the connector block as the connections were damaged when it was snagged by the Dyson?

    6. #4
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Skybox connection to BT socket

      Use a standard RJ11 plug to BT plug modem lead and plug it into one of the sockets of that telephone splitter in you photo which then plugs into the ADSL microfilter.

      If you don't need the second telephone outlet connect the modem lead directly to the ADSL microfilter.
      If you need two phone outlets get a three way telephone splitter as well.

      Andy

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to AndyJG For This Useful Post:

      Chippychap (28-11-11)

    8. #5
      Chippychap's Avatar
      Chippychap is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Skybox connection to BT socket

      Thank you Andy

    9. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Skybox connection to BT socket

      As above, this + this.

      OR

      This.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION