Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Help....Please!

    This is a discussion on Help....Please! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Spot on chaps! two faults one 230m away one a little closer. Up and running now with stats back to ...

    1. #11
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Spot on chaps! two faults one 230m away one a little closer. Up and running now with stats back to or even better than normal.....

      Router Statistics
      ADSL Link

      Downstream

      Upstream



      Connection Speed

      6336 kbps

      992 kbps



      Line Attenuation

      48.0 db

      28.0 db



      Noise Margin

      7.3 db

      8.0 db

      Job done, thanks yet again!

      James


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Good stuff, BTO were quick to fix too
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #13
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Good stuff, BTO were quick to fix too
      Yes very impressed with them and the chap was really nice. Although Im not the most technically minded he answered and explained what was happening and why. It seems like the cable's not the best and going to eventually need changing but he said until load's of others start having problem's they won't do a thing.
      As long as it stay's like it is for a few years again I'll be happy. Perhaps then I'll be able to get fibre optic....

    5. #14
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Don't know if I should have started a new thread but.......

      After BT fixed my line I was wondering should I contact sky to do anything to configure my line for gaming again?

      When I ping google it's around 38 so Im guessing my maximum delay is the same (8) but then when I ping again it goes up to 111, is there error's on my line or anything?

      Here's my router stats for you in case there's anything that can be done???



      Router Statistics

      PHP Code:
      System Up Time408:38:55

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B
      /s Rx B/s Up Time 

      WAN PPPoA   1516171 2002978 0 0   0   71
      :52:49
      LAN         3411645 2742686 0 0   0   408
      :38:55
      WLAN        4183086 2804285 0 224 208 408
      :38:30

      ADSL Link        Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5216 kbps  992 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db    28.0 db
      Noise Margin      6.6 db     8.0 db

      Poll Interval
      : (secs
      Last edited by Scubbie; 08-11-11 at 09:50 PM. Reason: Tidy up stats layout

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      If I am reading your stats correctly, you are getting as much as you can, so no need to phone Sky.

      What are you using to 'ping'?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Thank you Isitme, I thought things were how they should be with the stats from what I've previously learnt from you.

      Im pinging google from the cmd screen, as a sky technician had previously told me to do so. I can't ever recall a vastly fluctuating ping which was why I had the query.

      On a number of 'pings' 4 out of 5 are fine and then there'll be a flier??

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      Try typing ping -t bbc.co.uk This will send ping requests until you stop it. To stop, press Ctrl+c. See what that returns over a few seconds

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      sorry I took so long to reply,

      I just tried pinging the bbc and ther result's were...

      packets sent=66 recieved=66 lost =0

      aprox round trip in mili-seconds:min=30ms, max=165ms average=36

      I tried a second time....

      sent=58 recieved=58

      min=30, max=134 average=35

      I can understand the average being in the 30's but why does it go up to between 130ms and 165ms on occasion?

    10. #19
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      I've re opened this thread as Im not sure if there's anything wrong with my router stats and there's a previous reading a few posts back from a few weeks ago when all was well with the readings.

      If you stats guru's could tell me why my stats are so different now compared to a few weeks ago I'd be much obliged.
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 1:50:16
      Port
      Status
      TxPkts
      RxPkts
      Collisions
      Tx B/s
      Rx B/s

      p Time
      WAN
      PPPoA
      119777
      55794
      0
      142
      534
      1:49:18
      LAN
      50151
      114979
      0
      0

      0

      1:50:16



      WLAN

      14180
      12363
      0
      780
      170
      1:49:51
      ADSL Link
      Downstream
      Upstream
      Connection Speed

      5018 kbps

      796 kbps



      Line Attenuation

      51.0 db

      27.2 db



      Noise Margin

      6.6 db

      11.0 db

      Im mostly concerned about my upload as I use it for gaming and it used to be 992kbps have they capped my upstream?
      Why is my line attenuation gone up?

      Cheers

      A few weeks ago....

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5216 kbps 992 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 8.0 db








      Poll Interval: (secs)

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help....Please!

      For some reason they have moved you from G.DMT, which suited your line nicely, to ADSL2+ which is giving lower speeds, both up and down. This also accounts for the rise in your attenuation.

      Give them a call and ask them to put your line back on G.DMT(ADSL1) which gave you a much better connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION