Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 97

    BT phone socket.

    This is a discussion on BT phone socket. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; right, had a look and ive found a junction box: Opened it up to find this mess Good job i ...

    1. #51
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      right, had a look and ive found a junction box:


      Opened it up to find this mess



      Good job i didnt get BT to come out.

      Any advice on where to start?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Deffo not correct wire - and should be solid, not stranded. Will have more of a look at the pic.

      Edit:
      Orange and white likely BT.....

    4. #53
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      im going to have to rip it all out and start from scratch arent i?
      Im just concerned as to where the electric bodge wire is drawing power from?

      My plan would be to cut the non bt wires and run proper phone cable?
      Would this be safe?

    5. #54
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      im going to have to rip it all out and start from scratch arent i?
      Im just concerned as to where the electric bodge wire is drawing power from?

      My plan would be to cut the non bt wires and run proper phone cable?
      Would this be safe?
      It's not drawing mains electricity - just that it looked like it was 'electricity' cable being used instead of the correct cabling.

      Also, if that red/black goes back to the master uninterrupted, then scrub what I said about the possibility of it being lighting circuit cable. It looked solid copper from the master pic. Clearly not at the junction box.

    6. #55
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Giskard View Post
      It's not drawing mains electricity - just that it looked like it was 'electricity' cable being used instead of the correct cabling.

      Also, if that red/black goes back to the master uninterrupted, then scrub what I said about the possibility of it being lighting circuit cable. It looked solid copper from the master pic. Clearly not at the junction box.
      the red and black do go to the master, but im unsure if its uninterrupted.
      I have touched it (before i knew what it was) and didnt get zapped! lol

      looks like ive got a job for next week end!

    7. #56
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      My plan would be to cut the non bt wires and run proper phone cable?
      Would this be safe?
      Well, someone will hopefully correct me if I am wrong but:
      Orange relates to position 2 and white to position 5 at master. This would be position A and B screw terminals respectively for an NTE5.

      Edit:
      Anyway, any wires coming from that wide white flex behind skirting need to be removed from the junction. Basic plan is to ditch your wire between junction box and master. Then link from master to be sited at xbox area to junction box (if your junction box is still undamaged, that is).
      Last edited by Giskard; 24-07-11 at 07:55 PM.

    8. #57
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Looking at the junction box, the block of terminals at top right look pretty well murdered. A bodge could perhaps be performed by wires in and out (new out cable, that is) sharing lower block instead. But you want to avoid the bodges, so new junction box here I think.

      Edit:
      The shopping list provided by Isitme will still give you what you need.

    9. #58
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Could you post a pic slightly more right, and looking into the junction box from an anlgle rather than head-on to get a better look at the collection of wires around and behind the white flex?

    10. #59
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      The cowboy/DIYer at work.
      Love the uninsulated joint to extend the red!
      Looks like someone has used a lighter to burn off the insulation on those wires.

      The cable to you master socket looks like it may be alarm wire.
      You can just about see what looks like a cut off blue wire.

      Looks very much like a BT80A/RF2 which is an early filter to remove RF interference from the line but can kill ADSL signals.

      Have a read here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...0b-rf-3-a.html .

      You will have to copy and paste the link to the telephonesuk site as it no longer allows direct linking.

      The orange and white are your incoming pair.
      You can see the second pair (green,black) of the dropwire tucked behind the skirtingboard.
      A BT/Openreach engineer wouldn't normally recess the BT80A into the plaster like that so more possible trouble.

      Are you fed overhead or underground?

      If there is enough length on the dropwire you could fit an NTE5 at this location and work from there.

      Andy
      Last edited by AndyJG; 24-07-11 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Added more.

    11. #60
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Looking at the junction you have found, it looks like it may be an RF2, which would partly explain the poor results you are getting. It may even be an RF3 but it is so badly connected it is probably causing more problems than it solves. What I would do as a temporary measure is join the incoming white and orange wires to the outgoing red and black. Snip off the bit of red that has been soldered on. It does not really matter what incoming wires are connected to which outgoing. You can use something like a screw block connector on a temporary basis. When you have done that take your stats back at the master socket.

      It looks like the main incoming wire has been cut a bit short and the outgoing wire is also a bit short. The out going wire definitely looks like an electrical cable, probably an old 1mm twin and earth. What you can do as a finished job, depends on where you can join into the incoming cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION