Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 97

    BT phone socket.

    This is a discussion on BT phone socket. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just to confirm something.... Would I need to buy master socket AND a filtered faceplate, or is the filtered faceplate ...

    1. #21
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just to confirm something....
      Would I need to buy master socket AND a filtered faceplate, or is the filtered faceplate the master socket?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      You need the NTE5 to fit the filtered faceplate to. ....
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #23
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      You need the NTE5 to fit the filtered faceplate to. ....
      Right got you.
      Sorry for the daft question n

    5. #24
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      No problem at all. We will have bundles on the website hopefully soon making it easier to buy, we should also have Openreach branded NTE5's in next week!!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #25
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      Just to confirm something....
      Would I need to buy master socket AND a filtered faceplate, or is the filtered faceplate the master socket?
      If you bin your existing master, then you could replace it with an NTE5. The NTE5 has a removable lower front section: If you want to add a filtered faceplate then you remove this lower section and the faceplate can be plugged into the NTE5.

      By the look of that pic of the internals of your master it looks a pretty poor job Why were the ends of the wire stripped? Very short too.

      If you are replacing the box then you could think about dropping the box down to allow you to gain some wire lenth and also to chop off the scrag-ends.

    7. #26
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Giskard View Post

      By the look of that pic of the internals of your master it looks a pretty poor job Why were the ends of the wire stripped? Very short too.
      No idea but wasn't me!
      Gonna get BT out to repair the wiring and fit a new socket, I'll see if I can get them to fit an NTE5 socket.
      If not I'll look at doing it myself if adsl speeds don't change much.

    8. #27
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Or........could this be an option?:

      Seeing as your ultimate aim is to get to the multimedia area, why not put the NTE5 in place of the extension and feed it along the top of the skirting, over the door, to then connect to the pair of wires in your pic by means of proper cable and a junction box which RunitDirect can supply? (Obviously doing away with your existing master location entirely, (and the awkwardness posed by the short wire length as well)).

      You are going to have a 'join' anyway, so why not consider this as perhaps more elegant?
      Last edited by Giskard; 22-07-11 at 03:36 PM. Reason: typo

    9. #28
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      No idea but wasn't me!
      Sorry, didn't mean to imply it was you - just my 'thinking aloud', when I 'asked' about the stripping.

      Good luck and hope you get sorted.

    10. #29
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      That's an option giskard for sure.
      But I'm gonna need some kind of long cabling and I'd rather have the router direct in master socket without any kind of extension, then ethernet cable to Xbox.

      BT say they can't send an engineer as the line shows no faults?!??
      Even though I've explained it's got to be the socket or wires to it and I'm happy for an engineer to come, despite the cost risk.
      He said he'd speak to his supervisor.

    11. #30
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      That's an option giskard for sure.
      But I'm gonna need some kind of long cabling and I'd rather have the router direct in master socket without any kind of extension, then ethernet cable to Xbox.

      BT say they can't send an engineer as the line shows no faults?!??
      Even though I've explained it's got to be the socket or wires to it and I'm happy for an engineer to come, despite the cost risk.
      He said he'd speak to his supervisor.

      Ok, but an ethernet cable trailing across the floor is a bit scary, and across a doorway too. Perhaps you may not have a fear of anyone dislodging anything, but still.........

      When RunItDirect mentioned correctly fitted and appropriate cable having no discerable impact - he was not applying that to your current wiring - basically, you could 'extend' the master from where it is. It would be practically the same as if BT (or whoever) had run up and over to the xbox area in the first place - just an additional several metres of cable.

      Of course, ideally joins should be avoided but in the overall scheme of things, taking into account your requirements, the pros should outweigh the (minor) cons I reckon.

     

     
    Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION