Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 97

    BT phone socket.

    This is a discussion on BT phone socket. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Valiceemo If he will install an NTE5 socket would I have to buy a filtered faceplate separately? ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      If he will install an NTE5 socket would I have to buy a filtered faceplate separately?
      What benefits would it give me?
      Essentially a filtered faceplate will contain better electronics to filter the ADSL signal from the voice line. It can improve you connection speeds in some case, especially where an extension is present (not in your case).

      It can also help to make you connection tidier.

      Take a read of this article:

      Sky User - Which ADSL Faceplate Filter?

      Exdee is sure that it is a Master socket, but I would still be inclined to double check.

      As for when the BTO engineer arrives, you could always just pull the wire out again before he arrives. Whilst some would argue that this is wrong, the wire would have been too loose since it came it too easily. This would cause a poor connection speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thank you for your help.
      I won't need to pull the wire out before engineer arrives as it will cone out when he removes the front of socket, it's that loose.
      I'm definitely gonna make sure it's the only socket. I'll have them replace the socket and see if I can convince him to put an NTE5 in, if not I'll see if Internet speeds improve and maybe fit a better socket myself.

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      I'd buy an NTE5 socket and filtered faceplate and fit it myself personally - cheaper and less risk of BT footing you with a large bill (although, going by that picture, it's not your fault anyway)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'm gonna get BT out as the wiring is crap into the house.
      It's been very poorly fitted and needs new cable IMO.
      I think I've got a very good case if they try to charge me.

      On another note, I'm gonna pick your expert brains some more!

      Ideally I need an extension due to tue location of socket and location of TV, sky box, Xbox etc. I've drawn a quick plan below.
      Basically when we moved in everything was running through an extension which i don't think is a 'proper' one. It loos like a cheap extension bought and plugs directly into master socket and then runs to 'multimedia area'.
      We now bypass this and I've router direct into master socket but it's not ideal as we have to run a long cable to Xbox.
      My question is, can I wire in a proper extension and have a secondry socket neat multimedia area, and will it have any negative effects? (adsl speeds etc)
      How would I go about it?
      Is it a hard job?


    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Please do not put your router on an extension.

      This is going to reduce your connection speed significantly.

      The best way to take access to the Internet to another location is to extend your LAN IMHO.

      You can do this in a number of different ways:

      • long Ethernet cable, connecting to a Network Switch or an old router piggybacked onto the Sky router.
      • a pair of HomePlugs
      • WiFi Extender

      If starting from scratch and the wiring is not an issue, then the Ethernet cable & switch would be the best choice IMHO. Ethernet cable costs under 5 for 10m at the moment. Cat 6 would offer a good option for the future. Cat 5e is also a reasonable option, but Cat 5 will be sufficient for the current Sky router as it supports a 100Mb LAN. Cat 5e & 6 support 1Gbit LAN.

      A 5-Port network switch can cost under 5 too. If you happen to have an old router, then you could use this instead.

      Details on how to set up an old router are here:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I don't have my router into extension, it was but since been moved.
      It's a logistics problem routing a cable to the media area of room as the floor is tiled and sealed and there is a glass patio door 'in the way' so routing an Ethernet cable from router (plugged to master socket) to Xbox is gonna be a nightmare!
      Will plugging it into a secondary socket, extended via hard wiring cause connection/speed issues?

    8. #17
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      Will plugging it into a secondary socket, extended via hard wiring cause connection/speed issues?
      Whilst it is not recommended you might be able to get away by replacing your master socket with one of the newer junction boxes and moving your master closer to your multimedia area.

      There is a guy called 'runitdirect' on this forum. Look for him. Get in touch. I think he will be able to help you best with regards to what kind of wiring you need to keep the signal top notch if you are interested in taking this route.

      And I like the amount of effort you've put in your little illustrative picture. Well done

    9. #18
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lol thanks
      Just a quick 5 mins in power point!
      I think the best bet for me is to get BT out as the wires are in a pretty bad state and there is no good undamaged wire to use and it's far to short, i think this is the root cause of it failing, too much tension.
      I'll see what happens when they come out!

    10. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT phone socket.

      Woa! Having the router on an extension is no great dreal, if the cable is good quality & routed correctly it will make NO DIFFERENCE to the ADSL speed!

      CW1308 cableNTE5 (we will have Openreach branded ones in next week!)
      Filtered Faceplate

      If you can wire a plug then you can do this easily.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #20
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Woa! Having the router on an extension is no great dreal, if the cable is good quality & routed correctly it will make NO DIFFERENCE to the ADSL speed!

      CW1308 cableNTE5 (we will have Openreach branded ones in next week!)
      Filtered Faceplate

      If you can wire a plug then you can do this easily.
      Thanks dude.
      What do you mean routed correcty? In what way correct?
      It would be hidden behind the skirting board and around the glass door somehow.

      I think the way that it is extended now has been done on the cheap and bodged.
      Teaming this with the crap wiring in socket I was getting poor BB speeds.
      Even moving router to directly plug into master socket it made little difference.
      So first step so replace master socket. Then think about extension.

      Thank you all again.
      Saved me lost hours on the phone to BT and sky.

     

     
    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION