Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Possible Wiring Faults

    This is a discussion on Possible Wiring Faults within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've lurked here for a while and finally registered as I've a question or two I'd like to ...

    1. #1
      Uninhabited's Avatar
      Uninhabited is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible Wiring Faults

      Hi all, I've lurked here for a while and finally registered as I've a question or two I'd like to ask.

      My connection speed dropped sharply earlier this week, I was getting about 4Mbit downspeed which reduced to about 100Kbit (eventually rose to 500 and stayed there). My first thought was that the extension cable I'd been using to connect the router was damaged (it's a little worse for wear, and is now gone) so I purchased a wireless adapter for the computer and after installing it the speed gently rose over a few hours to just under 2Mbit but this didn't last the day and now I'm back down to around 600-700Kbit.

      I emailed Sky earlier today (including all the details here) stating that I'd tried the test socket and there was no noticable difference in the line attenuation or noise (though what I failed to note was a slight increase in speed of about 50-100Kbit in the test socket). The reply was that I should try to use the test socket (do they even read the messages beyond the email title and your name?) as they had tested the line and there were many errors so a higher speed wasn't possible.

      I should mention (though it slipped my mind at the time) that when I tried to use the phone on Friday there was a bit of crackle on the line, though I attributed this to the phone not being fully charged (we don't bother plugging it in often). Thinking on it a bit more I thought that it could be a problem with the line.

      Apologies for the wall of text, my question is this: Could the problem be that my socket's wiring is damaged in some way? We've lived here for about 10 years and it's never been touched as far as I'm aware.

      If it is damaged would we have to replace it ourselves or would we ask the owner or our telephone provider (also Sky) to do this?

      Any comments would be most appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      You may have a fault on your line. It would be best to get a corded phone and try that in your test socket without a micro-filter) and see if the crackling goes away. If it does not go away call the company who you pay your line rental too and make sure they put it through as a voice fault. Don't mention any issues with your broadband to them.

      If there is a fault on the line they will set somebody around to fix it and hopefully this will improve your internet too.

      Ps: When you have the corded phone plugged in you may want to call 17070 and conduct a quiet line test.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      Uninhabited (01-06-11)

    5. #3
      Uninhabited's Avatar
      Uninhabited is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      Thanks for the advice, we had someone come 'round today. The phone is working properly and the downspeed has increased to 990kbit. Hopefully it will climb back closer to the original speed and if not I'll drop a line to Sky again and have them check the line.

      Much Appreciated!

    6. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      Post your stats from the test socket.

    7. #5
      Uninhabited's Avatar
      Uninhabited is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      From the test socket I'm currently getting these stats:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6262 8189 0 933 3161 00:38:43
      LAN 10M/100M 860 0 0 63 0 00:40:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 10307 8296 0 3411 1038 00:40:04

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 992 kbps 614 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 33.3 db
      Noise Margin 28.5 db 11.0 db

    8. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      The line fault has now been resolved - call or e-mail Sky again and ask them to uncap the line.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      Uninhabited (01-06-11)

    10. #7
      Uninhabited's Avatar
      Uninhabited is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible Wiring Faults

      Will do, cheers.

      Edit: Sorted, speed is back to just under 5Mbit. Thanks for all the help folks.
      Last edited by Uninhabited; 01-06-11 at 02:55 PM. Reason: Update of Situation

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION