Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Set up query

    This is a discussion on Set up query within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I have been trying to improve my broadband speed for some time and just wanted to clarify a ...

    1. #1
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Set up query

      Hi all
      I have been trying to improve my broadband speed for some time and just wanted to clarify a few items, in order to see if I am doing anything incorrect.
      My current set up is as follows
      (1) Sky Router & Home telephone – plugged into the BT Master Socket via an ADSL filter.
      (2) Sky 1TB box – plugged into a BT Extension socket via an ADSL filter.
      (3) Sky HD box (upstairs) – plugged into a BT Extension socket via an ADSL filter.
      I would like to move my home telephone from (1) to (2) but I don’t think this should make any difference – should it.
      Can I also ask what sort of ideal cable should be used to connect the sky box to the telephone socket as it would appear that the Sky box upstairs has a small connector box in between itself and the BT extensions socket.
      I have also taken a few pictures of my set up at the following site -
      Pictures by stevewoody11 - Photobucket
      Any help appreciated.
      Thanks
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      If the filtered faceplate is wired up properly, then you've separated the ADSL signal at the entry point into your home. All the normal telephone sockets should no longer be carrying the ADSL signal and no longer require separate micro-filters.

      All you should need to worry about is installing a 2-way splitter in socket (2) so that it can be shared with both the telephone and the Sky STB, unless there is already one there.

      If the filtered faceplate isn't wired up correctly, this could actually reduce your connection speed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (28-04-11)

    5. #3
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Hi Scubbie - thanks the reply.

      I may have posted this in the wrong area as I do not have an ADSL faceplate fitted and don't really have the know how to do it without risk to my connection.

      What I was wondering is based on the above description and the pictures (which show the original set up with the BT sockets & the connection cables from my Sky) - is this correct?

      Apologies if I am not making 100% sense!
      Regards
      Woody

    6. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      For your broadband efficiency:

      Your best bet would be to get a filtered faceplate and install that on your master socket assuming you've got a nte5 with the detachable faceplate. This will filter out the ADSL signal at your master socket and you won't require adsl filters on your extensions.

      You will only require a double dsl adaptor to connect your phone and skybox at 2. At 3 you will be able to plug the cabling from your STB direct into the extension.

      You can get a filtered faceplate here:
      http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...roducts_id=105

      IDC tool required for connections too:
      http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=93

      If you have the older BT master socket you will have to replace it with a nte5 before you can install the filtered faceplate:
      NTE5 BT Openreach Type Socket (NTE5A with bellwire filter)

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (28-04-11)

    8. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Quote Originally Posted by woody11 View Post
      I may have posted this in the wrong area as I do not have an ADSL faceplate fitted and don't really have the know how to do it without risk to my connection.

      What I was wondering is based on the above description and the pictures (which show the original set up with the BT sockets & the connection cables from my Sky) - is this correct?
      Sorry - my mistake.

      In this case, you would still be fine to move the telephone upstairs.

      However, as Exdee has also pointed out, you would benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate.

      If your router stats should reduce as things are, then you may wish to consider disconnecting the ring-wire from the extension lead (at both ends).

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (28-04-11)

    10. #6
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Hi there
      Many thanks for the replies - look like a filtered faceplate is on the cards.

      With regards to disconnecting the ring wires - is this a wire which is shown in the pics I have posted? Can I try that first before getting a faceplate to see if that helps?

      Regards
      Woody

    11. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      It is the wires connected to the number 3 terminal behind the face plate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (28-04-11)

    13. #8
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Is that the Orange cable?
      Does this apply to both pics as pic1 is the extension socket & pic2 is the master?

      Sorry for all the questions
      Woody

    14. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Quote Originally Posted by woody11 View Post
      Is that the Orange cable?
      Does this apply to both pics as pic1 is the extension socket & pic2 is the master?

      Sorry for all the questions
      Woody
      Looking at pic 1, yes it is the orange wire. Just pull it out of the connection.

      Do not cut the two blue & white wires.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (28-04-11)

    16. #10
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Thanks Scubbie

      I presume I leave the master socket in Pic2 alone?

      Woody

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION