Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Set up query

    This is a discussion on Set up query within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No that is the important one, removing it from there should be sufficient, but taking it off the extensions will ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      No that is the important one, removing it from there should be sufficient, but taking it off the extensions will do no harm. The only wires you actually need connected are those on 2 and 5, the others are just connected for tidiness.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (01-05-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Quote Originally Posted by woody11 View Post
      Thanks Scubbie

      I presume I leave the master socket in Pic2 alone?

      Woody
      No problem.

      I would leave those wires alone myself.

      It is the internal wiring that can be the issue. The ring-wire tends to pick up interference, which is why it has become good practise to disconnect it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (01-05-11)

    6. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      That is the internal wiring Scubbie, it leads to the extension. The main incoming wires are connected to the A-B terminals on the inner plate which you can't see in the pic.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (01-05-11)

    8. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      lol - Thanks Tom.

      In that case, pull the orange wires there too.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (01-05-11)

    10. #15
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Hi Guys
      Apologies just got round to reading your replies (busy weekend).

      Just to clarify one more time in relation to the pics (Pictures by stevewoody11 - Photobucket) so that I don't mess things up:

      Pic1 - Extension socket - I can remove the Orange wire in point 3.
      Pic2 - Master socket - I can removed both the Orange wires in points 3 & 4.

      Thanks again.
      Woody

    11. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Quote Originally Posted by woody11 View Post
      Hi Guys
      Apologies just got round to reading your replies (busy weekend).

      Just to clarify one more time in relation to the pics (Pictures by stevewoody11 - Photobucket) so that I don't mess things up:

      Pic1 - Extension socket - I can remove the Orange wire in point 3.
      Pic2 - Master socket - I can removed both the Orange wires in points 3 & 4.

      Thanks again.
      Woody
      Yes you can remove the orange wires in those photos.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      woody11 (01-05-11)

    13. #17
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Thanks Scubbie

    14. #18
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Thanks to all for your help.

      By way of an update - the router is in the master socket (with filter), 2 other extensions have a filter for the connection of the sky boxes.

      I am now consistently getting 9.7mb - so this is a good improvement & I will probably now stop tinkering!!

      Thanks
      Woody

    15. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Quote Originally Posted by woody11 View Post
      Thanks to all for your help.

      By way of an update - the router is in the master socket (with filter), 2 other extensions have a filter for the connection of the sky boxes.

      I am now consistently getting 9.7mb - so this is a good improvement & I will probably now stop tinkering!!
      No problem.

      Any chance you could post your current stats to see what it all is now please?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    16. #20
      woody11's Avatar
      woody11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up query

      Current stats which have been stable for around 10 days now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10034 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.5 db 17.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 17.0 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION