Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Variations of extension cable?

    This is a discussion on Variations of extension cable? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Im struggling with my routers sync speed. In the test socket it syncs @ 5300 (that is fine and ...

    1. #1
      Molko's Avatar
      Molko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01524
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Variations of extension cable?

      Hi,

      Im struggling with my routers sync speed. In the test socket it syncs @ 5300 (that is fine and as expected), on a 10m telephone extension it syncs @ 4100.

      Up until a month ago it was syncing roughly the same on the extention as it was on the test socket. (running fine for 1 year+)

      We started getting problems, and since have got all new eqquipment, router, cables, filters everything is new.

      Setup goes Test socket> 10m extension> filter> router. and speed drops by over 1mb. Line is currently running dlm so dont want to mess about with it too much.

      Basically my questions are....

      1. Can you get better quality extension cables that might help? I bought something similar to this Telephone Extension Cable 10Mtr - Multiregionmagic The Home Of Multiregion DVD & Blu-Ray

      2. Should I forget this type of extension altogether and go for master socket relocation, or wirless, or lan extensions instead. I basically went for telephone wire extension for ease and cheapness.


      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      Your own figures confirm why members on here, and other support groups where ADSL connections are discussed, are always advised not to use extension leads.

      When I first connected to ADSL it too was via an extension lead as I didn't realise the implication. I now connect via the Master Socket, using a filtered faceplate for even better results.

      There is are alternative ways of connecting your computer to your router. Before I mention these, perhaps it would be nice to understand why ADSL suffers on extensions.

      Telephone extension leads are no made to the same high quality as the standard twisted copper cable that BT Openreach uses between your home and the telephone exchange. Admittedly they have used aluminium in some areas in order to save costs, but these cause the ADSL to drop even more.

      So what are the options?

      * Long Ethernet cable

      * Pair of HomePlugs

      * Install a WiFi adaptor

      A long Ethernet cable will not lose your BB speed in the same way a telephone extension will. An Ethernet cable for your router can be up to 100m before there would be a problem, so 10m is certainly fine. It will cost less than 10 (some are around 5 on the Internet)

      HomePlugs extend your network by using your electrical wiring to pass the Ethernet signal. Whilst they will have a short Ethernet cable between the router or PC, they offer the ability to extend the distance considerably more easily than a network cable could as you don't need to tack the cable in place to keep it tidy. They vary in cost from 35 to 120. Aim for the 100mbps or 200mbps ones with a pass-through for the electrical socket if you take this route.

      A WiFi adaptor can be useful for those who do not have a high demand for streaming video content or playing on-line games. Whilst your router is rated for WiFi g and has a max speed of 56mbps, your Internet connection is only around 5mbps from the Master Socket. The further you are from the router, the weaker the signal. Walls can also further weaken the signal.

      WiFi adaptors can be either installed inside a PC using a WiFi card or through a USB dongle. Both are effective. I would recommend that you bought a WiFi n adaptor capable of 300mbps if you go down this route. This way you would be more capable of working with it in the future too. USB dongles can cost from around 10, but be careful there are many cheaper ones that only work to 150mbps.

      LM Technologies RealTek USB Wi-Fi Adapter 802.11n: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      I would also recommend you try a high quality ADSL cable. These are far better than a flat twin phone extension, which is subject to a lot of interference. You will notice practically no drop in speed over 10 m. These can be obtained from online retailers such as Modem Cable High Quality ADSL Broadband RJ11 Lead - 10 Metre : Tamar Telecommunications Shop, Telephone equipment direct to your door!

      If you have an NTE5 master socket and you have extensions, you will almost certainly get an improvement by fitting a filtered face plate - XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation If you only have one phone socket, there is no advantage in using this.

      If you have an older type socket, without the joint across the face, and have extensions, then apart from changing it to an NTE5, there is little you can do except remove the ring wire from terminal 3.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Molko's Avatar
      Molko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01524
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      Thanks for the advice guys, we currently have the router upstairs and 2 pcs upstairs connected to the router with the master socket downstairs so I think ill give the 10m adsl cable and filtered face plate a go and see how I get on.

      cheers

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      If you have a spare router lying around, you may wish to look at this thread too:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      This way you'll only need the one 10m Ethernet cable to feed the 2nd router and a couple of short one to feed from that to your PCs.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Molko's Avatar
      Molko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01524
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would also recommend you try a high quality ADSL cable. These are far better than a flat twin phone extension, which is subject to a lot of interference. You will notice practically no drop in speed over 10 m. These can be obtained from online retailers such as Modem Cable High Quality ADSL Broadband RJ11 Lead - 10 Metre : Tamar Telecommunications Shop, Telephone equipment direct to your door!

      If you have an NTE5 master socket and you have extensions, you will almost certainly get an improvement by fitting a filtered face plate - XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation If you only have one phone socket, there is no advantage in using this.

      If you have an older type socket, without the joint across the face, and have extensions, then apart from changing it to an NTE5, there is little you can do except remove the ring wire from terminal 3.
      Bought these two products and they arrived today, got them installed and now syncing @ 5180, on the previous telephone extension it was syncing @ 3750 in the end.

      Pretty impressed with that, thanks for the help.

      current stats for router> 10m adsl cable> filtered faceplate are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5180 kbps 130 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 dB 29.4 dB
      Noise Margin 7.2 dB 35.0 dB

      I think DLM might still be running. Im personally quite happy with that considering how far from the exchange we are.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Variations of extension cable?

      Do check whether or not DLM is working. You have a huge noise margin on your upload. This indicates that you can vastly improve that.

      If it has completed and the upload speed does not improve significantly, call Sky and let them know that you have made 'Significant Improvements to your wiring'.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION