Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 37

    My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

    This is a discussion on My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!) within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Everyone, My main problem is my internet is extremely slow and sometimes it drops (disconnects) and multiple times Sky ...

    1. #1
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Hello Everyone,

      My main problem is my internet is extremely slow and sometimes it drops (disconnects) and multiple times Sky have reduced the speed I get where I have to call them to increase it again. The purpose of this thread is so I could possibly get help to increase my speed + improve its reliability.

      I will be posting background information and then the stats (if you require anything else lmk and I will help as much as possible). Thanks in advance for your help!

      First of all, I have some basic idea of how everything works and what the stuff like 'Line Attenuation', etc means but I'm no pro!

      Router/modem: White Netgear DG834GT (it came with sky - been with sky broadband for 3+ years now)
      Package: Sky Broadband Unlimited (Up to 20Mbps)

      All connections in my house to extensions (phone, etc) have microfilters.

      Originally I had my router connected to an extension (need Ethernet connectivity for desktop) but now I have moved it to the master socket.

      This is how my master socket looks: (Does it matter it has a T instead of a BT?)

      These are tests I have performed at different places over the last couple of days (I put times in brackets incase it matters):

      Extention Socket:

      System Up Time 115:26:56 (8pm)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4114939 5253948 0 1028 4705 115:26:01
      LAN 10M/100M 187311 3555 0 69 1 115:26:53
      WLAN 11M/54M 3996868 3428188 0 1911 1977 53:21:09

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1501 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 33.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 15.5 db


      System Up Time 130:08:15 (10:30am)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4797914 6407746 0 1029 7618 130:07:20
      LAN 10M/100M 218895 3853 0 72 1 130:08:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 5183288 4207224 0 8166 1833 68:02:28

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1501 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 33.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 15.9 db


      System Up Time 00:01:16 (10.30am)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 23 23 0 43 93 00:00:41
      LAN 10M/100M 439 0 0 1620 0 00:01:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 646 585 0 2841 1662 00:01:05

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1502 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 25.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 15.9 db


      System Up Time 04:07:43 (2:30pm)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 298120 151805 0 2475 2678 04:07:08
      LAN 10M/100M 1270 0 0 19 0 04:07:40
      WLAN 11M/54M 153587 300055 0 2848 2771 04:07:32

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1502 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 25.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.2 db 15.9 db


      Inside Master Socket - Face Plate Screwed Off (Engineer's Test Socket):

      System Up Time 00:02:05 (3:45pm)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 398 481 0 987 4607 00:01:33
      LAN 10M/100M 683 0 0 1230 0 00:02:02
      WLAN 11M/54M 1313 1328 0 5640 1739 00:01:54

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1504 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 22.9 db
      Noise Margin 15.2 db 15.9 db


      System Up Time 00:12:18 (4pm)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2102 2724 0 667 3351 00:11:46
      LAN 10M/100M 927 0 0 270 0 00:12:15
      WLAN 11M/54M 3981 4093 0 3759 921 00:12:07

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1504 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 22.9 db
      Noise Margin 15.3 db 15.9 db


      Master Socket - Faceplate On:

      System Up Time 00:02:39 (4pm)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 169 191 0 188 1091 00:02:05
      LAN 10M/100M 661 0 0 760 0 00:02:36
      WLAN 11M/54M 1125 1285 0 2281 981 00:02:28

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1498 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 32.6 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 16.0 db

      NB. All these tests were done when there was little to no activity on the internet.

      At the moment my router is connected to the master socket, I did a speed test on speedtest.net too (NB. for some reason the recommended server is London, even though I live in Manchester (Wilmslow) (it wasnt London before, not sure when it changed))

      London server:

      Manchester server:

      So extra questions + questions that arise through the post:
      • Why is the recommended server in London?
      • If I have connected my router to the master socket, can I connected devices (eg. laptop) to extensions sockets via an ethernet cable for internet?
      • How can I improve my reliability?
      • How can I improve my speed? (hoping for 4+Mbps)
      • Shall I ditch sky all together?
      • Does it matter that the logo on the master socket is a T instead of a BT?


      So please help me and let me know if you need any other information.

      Thanks a lot!!

      Edit: I'm not sure if this thread is in the right place, if not can someone move it or tell me where to repost it? Thanks again!
      Last edited by pranavtulsian; 31-03-11 at 05:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Noise Margin 15.3 db 15.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 16.0 db
      These are the important figures and show that your internal wiring is interfering with your broadband. Buy fit and use a filtered faceplate and this will solve most of your problems. You should easily get 4-5 Mb.

      If I have connected my router to the master socket, can I connected devices (eg. laptop) to extensions sockets via an ethernet cable for internet?
      You can connect to the router by ethernet cable but not through the phone circuit

      What you get from speedtest.net is irrelevant until you get your filtered faceplate.

      The T faceplate is just an older version and is quite OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    5. #3
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Thank you for the quick reply!!

      I'm not sure what you mean by 'Buy fit and use a filtered faceplate' :S

      What is that? Where can I get it? Possible for a link to buy it please?

    6. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      A faceplate is the detachable lower bit on to your master socket. Replace it with:

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      Have you got any phones attached to the extensions in your house?

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    8. #5
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Okthanks, so this is the filtered faceplate, what did he mean by 'buy fit'?

      Also does phone circuit mean the extension sockets?

      Also once I buy this, how do I rewire everything? There are loads of wires connected to my current faceplate.

    9. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Quote Originally Posted by pranavtulsian View Post
      Okthanks, so this is the filtered faceplate, what did he mean by 'buy fit'?

      Also does phone circuit mean the extension sockets?

      Also once I buy this, how do I rewire everything? There are loads of wires connected to my current faceplate.
      He intended a comma between buy and fit. The phone circuit refers to the telephone wiring. Once you have the socket. Come back and we'll sort your wiring out.

      You did not tell me if you have phones connected to your extensions. You have moved your router to your master socket and in case your phone is here too. You can just disconnect the extensions and may not even need a filtered faceplate.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    11. #7
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Oh sorry dint read that part.

      Yes I have one phone connected to an extension socket, I also have my Sky+ box connected to another extension (both with microfilters)

      But I can move my phone to the master socket (not my Sky box though), although I would like my extensions in working condition.
      Last edited by pranavtulsian; 31-03-11 at 06:58 PM.

    12. #8
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Also Idk if this helps but here is a picture of the test socket:



      I was reading this link: DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      It says that only 2 and 5 should be connected. In my faceplate 2, 3 and 5 are connected.

    13. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Sorry about the comma.

      Removing the wire from terminal 3 may help. That is the ring wire which causes a power imbalance across the main pair, which in turn causes noise on the line. Pull it off and see what difference it makes. Unless you have very old phones you will not notice any difference with your phone.

      The best result will be got from using a filtered faceplate on the master socket. You can then connect to the router using a longer high quality ADSL cable or a long ethernet cable. You can also use a Homeplug circuit which will give you a ethernet point in each room where a receiving plug is fitted. This will give you an idea what these are and what they can do - Homeplug | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    14. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    15. #10
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Haha, np just confused me a bit :P

      About pulling the wire, do I just physically pull it out? It won't break or anything right? How complicated is it? I will try it out and post the results, also in the link it says I have to pull out 3 from ALL the extensions sockets too, do I have to do that too?

      I have ordered the filtered faceplate moving the wires from my original face to the filtered one doesnt require any 'tools' right?

      Long cables or the homeplug doesnt seem viable options, I'll just use Wi Fi, thanks for the options though.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION