Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 37

    My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

    This is a discussion on My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!) within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by pranavtulsian About pulling the wire, do I just physically pull it out? It won't break or anything ...

    1. #11
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Quote Originally Posted by pranavtulsian View Post
      About pulling the wire, do I just physically pull it out? It won't break or anything right? How complicated is it? I will try it out and post the results, also in the link it says I have to pull out 3 from ALL the extensions sockets too, do I have to do that too?
      It's literally pulling it out. May require a little force. Remove it from all the extension sockets too.

      Quote Originally Posted by pranavtulsian View Post
      I have ordered the filtered faceplate moving the wires from my original face to the filtered one doesnt require any 'tools' right?
      There is a tool available for pushing down the wires. It's called an idc tool. It's not really a necessary as you can use a credit card or similar to push the wires in the slots. After you take out the ring wire from number 3 on your current faceplate. You can try pushing it back in to see if you require an idc tool or not. Disposable ones are available from the same website.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      I also have this next to my master plate:





      I think its just another extension socket. Do I have to mess around with the wires in this thing too? I dont know which socket this refers too either.

      Also once I remove wire 3, I will never need it again? Cause its going to be a major effort going to all my extension sockets only later to find I need to put it back....is this actually necessary at all?

    5. #13
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      you will never need it again.

      you don't need to change anything with the extension pictured above
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)

    7. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      You should not need to remove it from the extensions. It picks up the current in the master socket, so removing it from there breaks the connection with the other sockets. Some say it still acts as an aerial, but I find it difficult to see how this can happen.

      If you are worried about pulling the wire off, just snip it close to the IDC with a strong pair of scissors.

      With regards the extension plug, make sure this is plugged into a filter, not directly into the socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)

    9. #15
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      I removed wire 3 from the face plate (not the extension sockets though), while doing this a wire from 5 came out, I managed to put it back in using a credit card, so not too bad.

      And look at the results I got (theyre amazing!! same results as the test socket)

      System Up Time 00:07:52
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 893 917 0 1000 987 00:07:20
      LAN 10M/100M 734 0 0 330 0 00:07:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 2236 2615 0 1618 1446 00:07:41

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1504 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 db 32.6 db
      Noise Margin 15.3 db 16.0 db

      Few things I think I should clarify, at the moment my modem is connected to the master socket through a filter (I have just completely ignored that extra extension plug) and all the results I have posted are through my laptop connected via Wi Fi.

      Does this mean my problem is solved????

      Also if I ever want to use the extension PLUG, how do I connect it? Modem - filter - extension plug - filter - master socket (is that what you meant?)?

    10. #16
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      It's not fully sorted yet

      You will need to give sky a call and tell them that you have fixed your internal wiring and need your line reconfigured

      Connecting the Broadband to an extension is never a good idea. It would probably result in your line only being able to handle the current speed.

      If it must be connected to the extension it would be:

      Master socket > microfilter > extension > router.

      I repeat connecting to an extension is a terrible idea.
      Connecting it with two filters would likely result in no connection or very very slow speed.

      Would suggest that you look into home plugs instead.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 01-04-11 at 04:32 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)

    12. #17
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Sorry, what does BB stand for?

      I will call sky today, but does this mean I don't need a filtered faceplate? (Shall I cancel my order?)

    13. #18
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      Sorry Broadband.

      Filtered faceplates are generally better in the long term.

      If your stats are the same from both sockets it is not imperative to purchase a filtered faceplate now. Chances are though it will reduced the likelihood of issues in the future.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)

    15. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      You can run a phone through 2 filters, but not a router. The first filter removes the broadband signal from the voice so there is nothing there to receive.

      As mentioned running a router through an extension is a bad idea. If you really must do it, get a properly made up extension suitable for ADSL. Runitdirect, a member here, can make one up for you and give instructions on how best to fit it. run-IT-direct, Custom Leads
      Send him a PM if you want advice. View Profile: RUNITDIRECT
      Use the Send message>Send a private message link, not the visitors message box

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    16. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (01-04-11)

    17. #20
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband is Slowly Killing Me (Please help before its too late!)

      I had no intention of running the router through the extension, I have permanently moved it to the master socket.

      I called sky, and these are my new results

      System Up Time 01:57:32
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 227466 142083 0 3922 6514 01:56:58
      LAN 10M/100M 6749 0 0 196 0 01:57:29
      WLAN 11M/54M 154143 246860 0 7106 4673 01:57:21

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 db 32.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 15.7 db

      My filtered faceplate will be here on Monday/Tuesday, do I only rewire 2 and 5 from my current faceplate to the filtered one? (each of these have 2 wires in them)

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION