Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

    This is a discussion on Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have an ADSL filter plate fitted that separates the phones from broadband as recommended, this is then connected directly ...

    1. #1
      jkspoff's Avatar
      jkspoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      I have an ADSL filter plate fitted that separates the phones from broadband as recommended, this is then connected directly to my Sky provided D-Link router by a long lead to the back of my TV so I can connect the Sky box with the short Ethernet cable. My question is this, does it matter what length of cable I use from the master socket to the router ? Does it degrade at all ? It is connected without any joins by Cat 5 cable. I am just trying to get the max sync on my line whilst it is still in training mode for the 10 days.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      With a CAT5 ADSL cable you will notice very little difference over 15m or so, although most would say use the short cable supplied by Sky to connect the router and use the long cable to connect the Sky box.
      Last edited by Isitme; 13-02-11 at 04:14 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      Use the Grey lead that Sky supplied with your router to the Filter.

      Longer leads just aren't the same and it is likely that your BB signal will degrade.

      Why?

      Once the BB is in your home, you are using a different method to send the signal from your router to the Sky STB or a computer. So a different set of rules apply.

      The connection from your router to the telephone exchange is known as ADSL or ADSL2+ and this signal degrades the further you are from the exchange. It will also degrade on cable that is of poor quality.

      Your Local Area Network (LAN) or Ethernet cable is different to your telephone cable. The signal is generated or boosted in your router in signal strength (not speed).

      The Sky routers allow up to 100Mbps on your LAN.

      If you need to increase the distance between your Sky STB and the router, then many shops sell LAN cable that will work perfectly well. Typically the only difference is the price.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With a CAT5 ADSL cable you will notice very little difference over 15m or so, although most would say use the short cable supplied by scan to connect the router and use the long cable to connect the Sky box.
      Whoops! Like I just did

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      jkspoff's Avatar
      jkspoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      Thanks for all the answers, great advice, I think I've now managed to get the router as close to the ADSL filter plate and the Sky box as possible, so am looking at the fastest sync speed possible. We'll see if the speed settles down during the 10 days, very few disconnections so far, these are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2958 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5db 36.6db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 10.3db

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      Unfortunately you have a very long line and will be lucky to hold on to that speed. Let's hope you do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jkspoff's Avatar
      jkspoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Length of wire from master socket - ADSL training mode

      Managed to keep around the 3mb connection for a few days now so hopefully it'll settle at this after the 10 days training. Hope fibre optics enter my area in the next few years !

      I might add that the D-link router provided by Sky seems to give a good range for a non 'N' router, gets quite a distance through walls etc.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION