Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Help with wiring

    This is a discussion on Help with wiring within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; /\ He has more than one extension so the faceplate is not useless. The only extension that connects to A ...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      /\ He has more than one extension so the faceplate is not useless. The only extension that connects to A & B is the one for the router. If all done correctly with decent cable you should see next to no difference from this setup vs the test socket.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: SKY fibre max
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      thanks for all your help, think ill just leave alone

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      /\ He has more than one extension so the faceplate is not useless. The only extension that connects to A & B is the one for the router. If all done correctly with decent cable you should see next to no difference from this setup vs the test socket.
      Are you sure? Normally a phone circuit would be daisy chained, with only two wires connected to the master faceplate. The way I read it he has taken the wires from the 2 and 5 terminals and put them on the AB terminals on the faceplate. If he has two seperate wires, apart from his extensions, running direct to his router socket, that is fine and it will work as you say, but if there are only two wires running from the master socket, it wont.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      I may be confusing things from when this was pone thread If daisy chained then a faceplate at the master is pointless unless you are plugging the router into the matser OR the socket you want to use is low down in the chain.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      That's what I mean. It would be possible to make a circuit dedicated to one socket by joining up a different pair of wires, say the orange ones, in each socket before the one you want to use and connecting these to the AB terminals. The normal phone circuit would stay on the 2-5 terminals and be filtered. I don't know if the OP wants to go to the trouble.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: SKY fibre max
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      could i run the any colored wires i.e both blue wires, into A&B, and into back of the socket for were the router will be, and use different colored wires i.e orange ones for the phone into 2&5, also on my other extensions use the orange colored wires so that phone will work on these extensions, sorry for this post but as said earlier dont want to mess things up

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      could i run the any colored wires i.e both blue wires, into A&B, and into back of the socket for were the router will be
      Yes that is what I suggested previously. If the socket you want to use for the router is the first on the circuit chain, then it is just a case of connecting the pair you want to use to the A-B terminals on the faceplate and after disconnecting the orange wires, connecting them to the 2-5 terminals on the socket. If the socket is not the first on the chain, you would have to join up the wires in each socket before the one you want to use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: SKY fibre max
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      if i do that, this socket is on 3rd floor so possibly last in chain of 4, wouldi have to get a diff. faceplate so that i could use both phone and router from this socket if i wanted to( one with adsl and phone), or could i just use this socket for my router, sorry for loads of questions but im new to this

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      You can get a filtered extension faceplate or just use a plug in filter.

      XTF-68/85 - Pre-filtered Telephone Socket - ADSL Nation

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: SKY fibre max
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help with wiring

      thanks for your help, will give it go

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION