Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

    This is a discussion on Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I currently don't have a BT Master Socket, I have one of these next to the front door Behind that ...

    1. #1
      Aletank's Avatar
      Aletank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood - Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: o2 ADSL+2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool,UK
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      I currently don't have a BT Master Socket, I have one of these next to the front door
      Behind that I have the BT Supply connected to 2&5, a Ext to uptstairs to 2&5 which isn't connnected to nothing and a downstairs Ext to 2&5 which powers my Sky Box and my Router - So thats 3 connections to the 2&5.
      I'm 3.5km from the exchange or 4.5km by road
      Here's my Router Stats

      I'm thinking of replacing my Current BT Socket with a Master Socket and then fitting a Faceplate - either the XTE-500 or a Austin Taylor ADSL Faceplate BT Master Socket & Austin Taylor ADSL Faceplate & IDC on eBay (end time 21-Feb-11 19:31:08 GMT)
      Which would be best ?
      Would this improve speeds ?
      The Extension I have goin upstairs which doesn't get used, would this slow speed down any ?
      Thanks For any Help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      As you have power right next to the master socket it would make sense to replace it with an NTE5 and fit a filtered faceplate to it. That way all extensions are isolated from the ADSL signal and will not degrade performance at all. We have found the BT faceplates to perform best but there isn't much in it at all. If you can't plug the router in here you can still run an extension off the back of the faceplate to where you want the router. All the other extensions can still be filtered.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      Aletank (11-02-11)

    5. #3
      Aletank's Avatar
      Aletank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood - Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: o2 ADSL+2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool,UK
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      Sorry my fault - I've robbed/borrowed that pic - It's the same Faceplate as mine but the power socket isn't there.

    6. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      In which case you would wire the extension for the router to A&B on the back of the faceplate. At the other end you would need a plug in filter or you can install this socket. If you only need to plug the router in(NO phone) on that extension then you can also use this cable. Basically what you are doing is removing the ADSL signal from wiring that does not need it, this is what can improve performance.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      Aletank (11-02-11)

    8. #5
      Aletank's Avatar
      Aletank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood - Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: o2 ADSL+2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool,UK
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      If I ran the extension from A&B to the router, i also have my Sky box on this extension - Would the Sky box be happy with this ? No phone on this extension

    9. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Aletank View Post
      If I ran the extension from A&B to the router, i also have my Sky box on this extension - Would the Sky box be happy with this ? No phone on this extension
      Sky box=same as phone, it's an analogue device so you either need the socket I linked to or a plug in filter.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      Aletank (11-02-11)

    11. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Aletank View Post
      If I ran the extension from A&B to the router, i also have my Sky box on this extension - Would the Sky box be happy with this ? No phone on this extension
      You would have to make sure the Sky box was filtered, either by using a faceplate as recommended by RunIT or a plug in filter.

      Before you do anything, have you asked Sky to increase your speed? Your noise margin should allow another 3+Mb.

      Posts by Markm9 moved here-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...lp-wiring.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Aletank (11-02-11)

    13. #8
      Aletank's Avatar
      Aletank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood - Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: o2 ADSL+2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool,UK
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      I know this is a sky forum, I use to be with Sky but moved over to o2.
      When I was with Sky i was getting similar speeds to what I am now (2meg) I moved over to o2 and started getting 3.8 meg but as you can see that has dropped.
      I've contacted o2 and they said they done something but if if doesn't speed up to let them know and they'll send out a new o2 router. Both my o2 router and Sky Netgear router give the same speeds, so i know it not a router problem - I'm currently using my Sky Netgear router.
      I'm seriously thinking of moving back to Sky if this Master Socket fix doesn't work as people i know on sky are now getting about 8meg where as when i was with Sky they was only getting about 4meg, So Sky speeds seem to have doubled over the last couple of years.

    14. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      I had not noticed you were with O2, I am not chasing you away but maybe you should post over on our sister forum, O2User
      Many of the members posting there are also members here, so you will get plenty of help. Being on O2 they are probably better placed to advise you.

      I don't think Sky's speeds have increased any, it may just be that users are getting more out of their connection through the help of this forum and others like it. As I said earlier, it looks like your line could give 5-6Mb if configured correctly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Aletank (11-02-11)

    16. #10
      Aletank's Avatar
      Aletank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood - Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: o2 ADSL+2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool,UK
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed,Master Socket,Faceplate Help

      I posted here as i find it best for advice and as was was only after cabling/faceplate advice i thought that was good for all.
      I've just been on the phone to o2, they agree my speeds use to average over 4 meg, they done something and now I'm getting 2.5 meg a increase from 1.8 meg.
      They said the speeds have dropped at the exchange to 3.8meg so the speeds I'm currently getting are quite good.
      Anyone know why the speeds at the exchange would drop so much ? and for so long(been well before Christmas)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION