Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

    This is a discussion on Bellwire removed, sync dropped? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are you running any kind of extension cables to the router?...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Are you running any kind of extension cables to the router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Your stats show high CRC errors. You also lost sync to the exchange 30ish mins ago. => Not a good sign.

      Go ahead with plugging the router in the test socket on your master. Leave it there for an hour or so and then post back your results. Don't worry about DLM. You can always have your line manually configured.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      It will not make a lot of difference even if DLM is running, it will only take notice of frequent disconnections, one or two will make no difference.

      If you are running from an extension socket or a trailing extension, your speed will almost certainly be reduced. The only way to find out what your line is really capable of is to do as I suggest above.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Hi so I connected to the test socket as advised, but I saw no improvement:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11259 kbps 1105 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.5db 11.2db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 9.4db

      I guess this means any noise issue on the line is then a fault I need to report to Sky, and that regardless of my router being plugged into master or test socket at the moment I will not see any improvements when fiddling with my internal wiring etc..

      Thanks.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      It is a bit strange you have lost 3 Mb on this post(515) - http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post305403

      Do you still have some noise on the line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Hi, sky didn't detect any noise on the line, but yes it is odd, just to get back to that would suit. Maybe I should give Sky another call.

    8. #17
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Try a different micro filter and dsl cable? It may also be worth dialing 17070 from your phone and conducting a quiet line test for crackles etc.

      If you have a spare router you can try that too.

    9. #18
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Hmm, tried that also no joy. Also tried unplugging Sky box from phone line, still no joy on that angle. Hmm!

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bellwire removed, sync dropped?

      Should have asked before, but when you remove the faceplate from the master socket, are all your other sockets dead, ie, no dial tone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi yes all other sockets dead at that point..

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION