Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    New faceplate = no difference

    This is a discussion on New faceplate = no difference within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone help? my broadband speed recently took a nosedive from a palty 3/4mb to 128kbps! having spoken to sky, ...

    1. #1
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New faceplate = no difference

      Can anyone help? my broadband speed recently took a nosedive from a palty 3/4mb to 128kbps! having spoken to sky, they advised me to test in the master socket. doing this took me to 1/2 a meg. They said the faceplate/ socket was faults and i needed a new one. I replaced it, but it made no difference. I tested with it attached = 128kbps again. without it/ in the engineers socket = 384kbps. Sky have advised me to 'stay plugged in to the master socket'. but this isn't practical. my extension upstairs wont work without the faceplate, and multiroom sky boxes are plugged into it (a whole other issue with getting letter from them about them not being plugged in).

      So, although the lady on the phone said it will be fine, i don't believe her, as the phone plugged in upstairs is dead.

      so i need to resolve the issue rather than work around it. any ideas what the problem could be? one thing she did do, was run an adjustment whilst i was plugged into the engineers socket with the faceplate off, and i now have a whopping 2mb!!! am so happy with that! but, if i plug the faceplate back in, i'm back to 128kbps.

      do you think i've just been unlucky enough to buy a duff replacement socket (i replaced the whole thing, not just the faceplate? So should i buy yet another one? or do you think there is something else happening here? The socket is the NTE5 type with a plit across it, not the openreach one.

      all help appreciated. this is the netgear pages stats when attached to engineers socket directly:
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 2048 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      What wires do you have connected to the back of the faceplate?

      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Does every telephone socket in use have a filter connected directly first into the socket, before any other equipment, specifically where you plug Sky tv in?

      Edit: Also, we need to see the correct set of stats - you'll find them within the 'show statistics' bit.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      Depends if the OP just got a replacement from panel or a filtered faceplate. Either way there's still an issue which is up to he OP to resolve. Easiest way to fix it is to buy a filtered faceplate and leave the router in the mast socket. You can then do away with filters elsewhere in the house
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      Hi,
      there are two phone sockets in the house, one master, downstairs, and one upstairs. both have microfilters placed directly in the socket and the phone, router and sky box are plugged into the filter downstairs and a phone and sky box plugged into the one upstairs. the wires directly into the faceplate on the master are 2,3 and 5. i think they are blue and white, orange and white and blue. i'd heard the orange is bell wire and not required so tried without it connected, but it made no difference. thanks for your help. am about to try removing all wires from the faceplate and seeing what that does. desperate times.

    6. #5
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      ok, I don't know if this helps at all. I removed all the 3 wires from the back of the faceplate, and plugged into it, and the speed stays at 2mb. this suggests the faceplate isn't faulty? that it's something to do with those wires going into it?

    7. #6
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      when i connect the white and blue wire (5) it goes down to:
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 928 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

    8. #7
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      with the orange alone connected = no difference 2mb.
      white and blue (5) becomes 1mb
      remove white and blue (5), connect blue and white (2):
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 128 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      so it seems both 2 and 5 are causing issues, but 2 more than 5.
      having looked briefly at their purpose, one seems to be the 'A' wire earth, the other the 'B' wire earth. what do these actually do? what could be causing this drop?

    9. #8
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      Try reconnecting those wires but disconnect all other equipment from the extension sockets. If that works OK, plug in the filters and equipment, one article at a time and see the effect.

    10. #9
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      If you have a phone and the sky box plugged in upstairs you are presumably using a spitter. This should be plugged in the phone side of the filter and not before it.

      The best resolution will be to get a filtered faceplate as advised by IWNTE in post #3.

      Also the correct set of stats as requested by User05 in post #2 will help us advise you better.

    11. #10
      marshymoo's Avatar
      marshymoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dummer
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New faceplate = no difference

      when at it's best:
      System Up Time 118:46:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 20237 23079 0 139 855 06:13:36
      LAN 10M/100M 10687 0 0 6 0 118:46:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 470293 729534 0 1220 145 118:46:11


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.6 db 16.0 db


      yes, the splitter is the phone side of the filter upstairs.

      I'll try the reconnection/ remove everything upstairs from socket. I think i tried before, but can't remember if it helped, so will get the stats

      thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION