Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Broadband slows when landline plugged in

    This is a discussion on Broadband slows when landline plugged in within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The pic shows extension wiring & looks like CW1308 to me so no problems there. Just make sure all other ...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      The pic shows extension wiring & looks like CW1308 to me so no problems there. Just make sure all other sockers DO go dead when that faceplate is OFF. Then plug a filter into the test socket, ie, leave the front lower plate OFF-what happens then? When you have this cleared up consider a filtered faceplate as that does away with plug in filters, do you normally plug the router into the master socket or an extension?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Matt KB's Avatar
      Matt KB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyJG View Post
      Do you get the same problem with the filter plugged into the test socket (the socket in the backplate that you have exposed)?
      Do you use a cordless phone?

      You haven't answered PaulSky's question 'do the other sockets die or is there still dial tone?' yet.


      Not necessarily.
      Builder probably using the cheapest materials and installed by an electrician rather then a telecoms engineer.
      The cable in your photo doesn't look like conventional telephone cable.

      Andy

      Yep same problem when plugged into the test socket. All the other sockets aren't connected yet so none of them have a dial tone or are ever active.

      Am getting the same problem when using just the test socket. Annnoying now when I plug in the phone it instantly goes dead (cuts off the net) till the router restarts (doesn't need a reboot) then carries at the slow speed till a reboot.

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      And the same happens with another phone?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Matt KB's Avatar
      Matt KB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      And the same happens with another phone?
      I don't have another phone to try sadly, I might go pick up a cheap non-cordless one to test - could it be the phone causing the prob?

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      Quite possibly, best try it cause Sky will ask you to do it before looking deeper into the matter
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      Deffo try another phone as a next step. When you say no other sockets are connected is the cable just left loose at the other end? As there is cabling connected to the NTE5..........
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #17
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      also, they may have swapped adsl2+ and d.gmt modes, or not enough power is going down your line. just some problems i remember that could be affecting you
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    9. #18
      Matt KB's Avatar
      Matt KB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband slows when landline plugged in

      Cheers dude, tried a new phone and no problem so looks like it is the phone that's the prob. With the old phone connected now to any socket I can't get the internet at all.

      All other sockets work fine - so to my surprise they are all connected. The new phone was a corded one, so could the cordless aspect be causing an issue? Odd that before it was slowing the connection to the net, now it shows the same speed but just won't log into anby websites or Xbox Live whilst it's plugged into any socket.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION