Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

    This is a discussion on would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; in my new house there is only one master socket in the living room, i have an ADSL filter plugged ...

    1. #1
      fenwick458's Avatar
      fenwick458 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01946
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Egremont, Cumbria
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      in my new house there is only one master socket in the living room, i have an ADSL filter plugged in, then the phone and the modem into the filter.
      is it possible to see faster speeds with a new faceplate, or is this not really applicble to my situation as i only have one socket?
      if so, where can i buy one locally? B&Q, focus? or are the best ones only available online.

      and another q, is there any electronics between the test socket and the master socket outlet?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      Post your stats from the master and test socket for comparison.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      From experience:
      I had 1 socket in my previous house and there was little difference between the stats in the test and master socket. Therefore I did not put in one.

      You can get filtered faceplates from maplin but they will cost more and not sure about quality.

      Quote Originally Posted by fenwick458 View Post
      and another q, is there any electronics between the test socket and the master socket outlet?
      Not sure what this means..

    4. #3
      fenwick458's Avatar
      fenwick458 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01946
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Egremont, Cumbria
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      Quote Originally Posted by fenwick458 View Post

      and another q, is there any electronics between the test socket and the master socket outlet?
      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post

      Not sure what this means..
      is there any electronic components there, or is the faceplate just a direct connection from the test socket to a female socket on the front, with a provision for feeding other (slave) phone sockets?

      whilst on the phone to sky customer service today they said i could always have my router plugged into the test socket and it would give me a better speed, but BT would figure this out and throttle the speed because of it. and basically i'm trying to find out if this is BS or not? i mean, if theres no electronics in the faceplate then the only difference it's making if i have no other sockets connected to the the master socket is a couple of milli-ohms... between test socket and front socket
      Last edited by fenwick458; 05-01-11 at 05:46 PM.

    5. #4
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      If you have the latest NTE5 with an openreach logo on it, then there is an inductor filtering the ring wire connection. If it's an older one with a BT or piper logo, then none.

      The reason for using the test socket is to disconnect all telephone extensions, althoug without any you might still see some improvement if the user removable plate is damaged - eg a bent and shorted pin, or dust in the socket.

      On a BT based service, if you improve your connection (noise margin or sync rate goes up), you typically won't see an instant rise in speed as BT's DLM takes a few days to update your BRAS profile.

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      As above the only instance you would see an improvment is when the front lower plate is faulty(bad joint). However, the BT faceplate is a nice neat solution to avoid plug in filters.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      fenwick458's Avatar
      fenwick458 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01946
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Egremont, Cumbria
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      just plugged it in to the test socket and checked the router stats and done a spped test, virtually no difference. speed test was exact same DL & UL and the noise margin increased by 0.3db on the DL, rest of figures the same.
      i suppose i might aswell just leave the test socket then...
      Last edited by fenwick458; 05-01-11 at 07:11 PM.

    8. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: would a new faceplate benefit me if i only have one socket?

      ^ Don't bother replacing the faceplate mate.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION