Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Faceplate woes

    This is a discussion on Faceplate woes within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi people I bought the XTE-2005 faceplate and for some reason I seem to get more noise using it when ...

    1. #1
      Jumping's Avatar
      Jumping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WISHAW
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet FTTC
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q (2minis)
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faceplate woes

      Hi people

      I bought the XTE-2005 faceplate and for some reason I seem to get more noise using it when I turn on the TV, when I use the filters it seems to be able to handle the noise from the TV better.

      Any way my question is it common that a plasma TV takes away like 1.5-2dB noise margin?

      Im back to using the filters and got back 2mb download speeds so its ok.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

    4. #3
      Jumping's Avatar
      Jumping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WISHAW
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet FTTC
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q (2minis)
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      No I dont have multiroom, altho the SKY HD box sometimes seems to make a difference on the upload side of things its actually just turning on the TV thats causing interference even with the SKY HD box.

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      Jumping
      Hi The XTE-2005 separates The phone from the ADSL. At the back of the faceplate how many wires are there. Do you have any extensions. Have you tried unplugging the phone from the HD Box as stated on post 2# http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...-internet.html

    6. #5
      Jumping's Avatar
      Jumping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WISHAW
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet FTTC
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q (2minis)
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      There are 3 wires that hooks up the 2 other phone sockets in the house beside the master socket.

      Even using the adsl filters turning on tv causes a bit of drop in noise margin figures but not as much as when using the XTE-2005 plate.

      The HD box doesnt matter it does the same with it plugged in or not this is when im turning on my TV.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      Try plugging the TV and router into good quality surge protectors.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Jumping's Avatar
      Jumping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WISHAW
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet FTTC
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q (2minis)
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      Yeah gonna invest in another good surge protector as I took my good one upstairs to attach the PC too.

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Faceplate woes

      Jumping
      Hi you seem to have everything set up well and what Isitme says would be a good solution.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION