Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    What's best to do here?

    This is a discussion on What's best to do here? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just moved into a new house and I have one socket - an old, yellowly, non-branded NTE5 with the incoming ...

    1. #1
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      What's best to do here?

      Just moved into a new house and I have one socket - an old, yellowly, non-branded NTE5 with the incoming cable VERY loosely connected and stripped too far back. I wanted to get BT out to replace it when they activate the line but 128 to fit a new socket mean they can jog on and I'll do it myself.

      Now, am I good to buy one from Run-IT-Direct or is it best to try and source an Openreach one in case BT need to come out in the future? I've already got an NTE-2000 faceplate to go on and new DSL cable so just need to know if it's worth me doing it as although I know what I'm doing in practise I've never had to replace a socket before!!

      The incoming cable seems to be 4 or 6 core - is this correct? I thought it was meant to be one black, one red or is that just the pair used traditionally on an incoming line?

      EDIT: See their NTE5 sockets are the same minus the branding so I'm gonna get one, just need clarification on the cabling...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      Older drop cables were 4 core untwisted, now it is more common to use 4 or 6 core twisted pair, so nothing to worry about there. Just make sure you connect the same incoming pair to the A-B terminals of the new NTE5 and connect any extensions to the faceplate.

      I would not worry about BT saying anything about the non-branded box in the future, if they do, just tell them it was there when you moved in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      No extensions going in, only a small terraced house with master in the lounge...line goes active Thursday so need to get the DSL up ASAP!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      If you have no extensions, apart from appearance, you don't really need a faceplate. A good quality plug in filter would do just as well, but if you have one, no reason why you shouldn't use it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      I got it for my last place but never got round to using it, and I want to use the faceplate to keep things neat (it's messy enough around the phone point as it is!!!)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      The official line used to be do not touch the (REAR!) of the NTE5. The reality has always been an Openreach engineer will not care at all so long as you have not caused an issue connecting two wires! BT in India are now advising customers they CAN change the NTE5 for decorative socket-not sure how an Openreach engineer would feel about that one!!
      Last edited by RUNITDIRECT; 29-09-10 at 12:53 PM.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      well my NTE5 faceplate was fitted by BT when I first had broadband as there wasn't microfilters then, so I would hope that BT would still look at it.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      Sorry, the FRONT lower half of the NTE5 is customer replaceable, the REAR part is supposed to be BT's property. The reality is as above.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      Yeah, realised that
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What's best to do here?

      Just a quick update...

      New socket fitted with faceplate, all neat and tidy and calls working fine. Now just waiting to go live

      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION