Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

    This is a discussion on Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; my house phone wont ring when using the microfilters i have tried it on all the sockets and none work,anyone ...

    1. #1
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      my house phone wont ring when using the microfilters i have tried it on all the sockets and none work,anyone had the same problem? or know what to do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      Have you got a test socket you can try in? How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    4. #3
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      test socket?

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      All the info you need is in the link paul gave you.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      redvers's Avatar
      redvers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      We recently got Sky Broadband at our new home and the supplied microfilters prevent the phone from ringing, even in the master test socket!! A 3 replacement from Asda worked perfectly fine out of the blister-pack. I need to phone Sky and complain about the POS filters that they have supplied

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      If someone wants to post one of these filters to us we can look into it?? This is odd though, a non complient filter normally passes the ring wire straight through so a phone that rings in the test socket without a filter still should do, if they are not passing the ring wire (incorrectly) through they should have their own ring capacitor.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      tried it in my master phone and same problem.I allso borrowed another phone of someone to cancel it out being the phone and that had the same problem

    9. #8
      redvers's Avatar
      redvers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      I contacted Sky to complain and all they could say is they'll send me a new one, which will probably be equally faulty!

    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      Can one of you with these "Faulty" filters take a picture of it and post it up here?
      In addition do you both have the d-link router?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #10
      styla's Avatar
      styla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Landline phone help-microfilters/phone not ringing

      Had exactly the same problem , but in my case i ended up buying a BT cordless phone when this problem occured.
      The cable that cam ewith the phone goign from the phone to the filter fixed the problem, in other words instead of using the one i bought from tesco's i used the one that came with the phone and that fixed the issue.

      So well either certain filters seem to have a ring wire built in, or maybe an expert here can have a say and figure out why this might have been the case?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION