Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Changing NTE5 Master Socket + ADSL?

This is a discussion on Changing NTE5 Master Socket + ADSL? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have a NTE5 Master socket which i must say really needs replacing. Because it is not a BT ...

mat22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Changing NTE5 Master Socket + ADSL?

Hi,

I have a NTE5 Master socket which i must say really needs replacing. Because it is not a BT one i am not worried about the legal issues of replacing the whole thing because it seems someone has already messed with it way before me.

I took the face plate off and my wiring is like this:

Orange/White wire is connected to 5

Green wire 3

Blue wire 2

I want to but the Pressac NTE5 ADSL faceplate as shown here:

Pressac NTE5 compatible ADSL filtered faceplate: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

If i did buy this would i connect the wires the same way on the new plate like: orange/white connect to 5, green to 3 and blue to 2 ?

I am also thinking of buying a new NTE5 master socket as shown below because my current one is in bad condition

NTE5 Master Socket - Austin Taylor version with screw: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

I notice on the back there are screws with a cable underneath each screw, the wires for these are as follows:

Blue/White wire connected to screw A and the other blue/white wire connected to screw B.

Again if i buy a new one i guess i connect it the same way as the old one is connected?

My adsl modem/router is currently connected to my mastersocket using a RJ11 cable (obviously the RJ11 cable is connected to a microfilter which is connected into mastersocket).