Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Best wiring option?

    This is a discussion on Best wiring option? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Could someone tell me my best wiring option for my router and equipment? My master socket is downstairs ...

    1. #1
      firestarter03's Avatar
      firestarter03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Best wiring option?

      Hi all,

      Could someone tell me my best wiring option for my router and equipment? My master socket is downstairs but my computer and xbox 360 is upstairs in my room. Currently I have an extension in my room where my router is plugged in and my equipment is wired to. I have had to move my desk to the other side of the room so the options are:

      1. Leave the router plugged in where it is and have longer netwrok cable to my xbox and pc
      2. Buy 10m of RJ11 and move my router to the desk where my xbox and pc can plug into it
      3. Plug the router into the master downstairs and buy homeplugs (although I need 2-3 ports)

      I am trying to get the best out of my connection, is there a better way of doing this or have I covered all the options?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Best wiring option?

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:02 PM.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      The very best is to ALWAYS plug into the master & wire Ethernet cables from the router to your devices. If this can't be done then use an NTE2005 & the BT extension kit to get the router where you want it.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      2. Buy 10m of RJ11 and move my router to the desk where my xbox and pc can plug into it
      Provided you use good quality twisted pair cable, this is probably your cheapest way. Don't use the flat type cable in any great length, it will pick up interference. RunITDirect, a member of the forum will make you up a cable either as an RJ11 or extension.
      run-IT-direct, Custom Leads

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      firestarter03's Avatar
      firestarter03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      Thanks for the info guys. I may just get some high speed rj11 and move the router to my desk and look to upgrade the extension later.

      One more quick question, I have noticed different types of nte5 masters. I have the one with screw terminals for the incoming line and it has a BT logo. Apparently the most up to date one is the one without screw terminals and has a bell wire filter. Does this one provide a better connection than the one I have? I have the bell wire disconnected and will be buying a filter faceplate anyway. I noticed it says this on run-it-direct:

      Please note, we supply the latest version of the NTE5(A) that features the filter on the bell wire circuit for IMPROVED ADSL PERFORMANCE! NOT all versions of the NTE5 currently available feature the bell wire filter!

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      One more quick question, I have noticed different types of nte5 masters. I have the one with screw terminals for the incoming line and it has a BT logo. Apparently the most up to date one is the one without screw terminals and has a bell wire filter. Does this one provide a better connection than the one I have?
      I wouldn't think so. All you need is the filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Best wiring option?

      deleted
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 08-10-10 at 09:02 PM.

    9. #8
      Arbitron's Avatar
      Arbitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      Iit doesn't matter whether it has a bellwire filter or not. Most RJ11 Modem cables do not have the bellwire anyway (because it's cheaper), and you simply don't wire it up for any extensions.

      That said, if you're going to run cables then THE fastest and most reliable option is to get a prefiltered faceplate, connect the router to the master socket and run a Cat 5e Ethernet cable to a network switch upstairs.

    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      The issue with the ring wire(3) only comes into play with extensions wired off the NTE5. If you have extensions then this can make a BIG difference to speed, the ADSL faceplates achieve the same as the bell wire filter so it does not matter if you have an early NTE5. No faceplate+extensions=get the latest NTE5!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #10
      firestarter03's Avatar
      firestarter03 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best wiring option?

      Well I got a filtered faceplate and wired my only extension where my router plugs in to the A and B terminals. I have just realised that my rj11 won't fit into a standard telephone extension socket (as it used to fit into the microfilter but i don't need them anymore!). Do i need to buy a rj45 faceplate now? If so could someone link me to the best one to buy?

      Thanks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION