Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Master Socket is green box?

    This is a discussion on Master Socket is green box? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Connect the incoming wires to the A_B terminals in the NTE5 backplate and connect the wires going to your extension ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      Connect the incoming wires to the A_B terminals in the NTE5 backplate and connect the wires going to your extension to the 2 and 3 terminal on the faceplate. You will have to check which wires are going to the 2 and 3 terminals on your extension faceplate and connect them to the same terminals on the master faceplate. It is usually the blue/white/blue wires but it may not be as yours does not look like a BT installed extension. There is no need to switch of power.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      You dont have to switch off the power but dont go touching the exposed ends of wires on the incoming bt line as they do carry some voltage and can give you a bit of a shock if touched.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      You will be fine as long as you don't put them in your mouth. The voltage is minimal.

    5. #14
      Fire & Brimstone's Avatar
      Fire & Brimstone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pollok
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      This box was used in the past as the interface between the external cable and the internal cable. Does your line come in the window through the wood underneath the green box? If so you may want to take off the lid and check if the connections are good before you try to replace it.

      Is the window in the bathroom? The old 2 core external cable was subject to corrosion in the past and may need to be cleaned and re-terminated. If there is enough slack you could pull some of the external cable through the window and terminate straight into a new NTE5.

    6. #15
      Fire & Brimstone's Avatar
      Fire & Brimstone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pollok
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      You did get old junction boxes which were different colours:- green, Ivory, brown, black, red they came colour co-ordinated to go with the old rotary pulse dial phones (700 series I think, I've been away from BT for 20 years) of the same colour that operated on Strowger exchanges before electronic and digital exchanges were introduced.

    7. #16
      MepsiPax187's Avatar
      MepsiPax187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thanet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      So, Is there any danger in screwing up my phone line whilst doing this, if I screw it up some how? Also when I said speak slowly, I meant it. Can't work out what anyone is talking about lol. thanks anyway.

    8. #17
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      It's possible if you connect it wrongly, but very unlikely providing you take your time to do it. In terms of making the connections (trying to give you some detailed and simple instructions):
      On the new NTE5: (Get From eBay search for BT master socket and find one with the BT logo on it Item #150483202926 is a good example)
      You have two terminals on the rear A+B - Incoming Line
      You have three terminals on the faceplate 2, 3 and 5 - Extensions
      In terms of how A and B correspond to 2, 3 and 5. A is 5 and B is 2, terminal 3 is the ring wire and is not required to be connected it can additionally have a detrimental effect on your broadband.

      First thing you need to do is identify which wire is which on your incoming line:
      1. Take the faceplate off that socket there and make a note at the colours connected to terminal 2 and terminal 5 for both the extension cabling and the cable coming from the green box
      2. Now trace the wire from that socket back into the green box
      3. In the box you'll have two sets of terminals one set connected to where you traced the wire back and the other is your incoming line
      4. Identify which colours on your incoming line correspond to the colours going to the socket in the junction box again make a note of this using the 2, 5 notation

      Now to fit the NTE5:
      1. Use wire cutters to cut the incoming line off from the green box
      2. Remove the existing socket and disconnect all wires from it
      3. Using tape mark out the extension wiring
      4. Remove the cable you have between the socket and green box
      5. Strip the wire back for your incoming line (dont bare the metal ends just ensure the internal wires are exposed sufficiently for you to make the connections)
      6. Take the rear plate for the NTE5 (the one with the A+B connections) and get it ready for fitting
      7. Route your incoming line cable suitably into the backbox for the socket
      8. Connect the incoming line cable to the A+B connections on the NTE5 using an IDC tool (No wire stripping required) Use the notes you made before RE colours on the incoming line A goes to 5 and B goes to 2.
      9. Screw the rear plate of the NTE5 into the backbox ensuring you leave the extension wires easily accessible through the front hole
      10. Connect the extension cabling to the faceplate using an IDC tool (use notes from earlier connecting 2 to 2 and 5 to 5)
      11. Screw the faceplate onto the NTE5
      12. Your done

      Tools:
      IDC tool, pen & paper (for notes), screwdrivers
      Do not use a screwdriver instead of an IDC tool you can irreperably damage the terminals

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #18
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      MepsiPax187
      Hi what would be a good idea is to unscrew the 2 screws and take a photograph so we can see what`s inside the box.

    10. #19
      MepsiPax187's Avatar
      MepsiPax187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thanet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      Cheers simon, Also. I think I could do that Steve. I'll do it when I get in later.

    11. #20
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Master Socket is green box?

      Its very unlikely that the incomming line to the green box will have sufficient slack to connect to a NTE-5, it may also be incorrect cable to fit the IDCs of a modern socket.

      The best way would be to leave the green box alone, and replace the exsisting socket with a NTE-5 connected to the green box.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION