Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

    This is a discussion on external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was also thinking of the actual fitting Brian. It may be difficult to get an NTE5 into that recessed ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      I was also thinking of the actual fitting Brian. It may be difficult to get an NTE5 into that recessed box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I was also thinking of the actual fitting Brian. It may be difficult to get an NTE5 into that recessed box.
      NTE5's fit single gang flush boxes no problem
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      Good Point Still its worth a try. I think Tom is thinking of the box depth Dave, it may be a little shallow.
      Last edited by Brian69; 13-08-10 at 03:20 PM.

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      That would certianly work, but I must admit I prefer a NTE-5 and a filter faceplate because you then get a test socket and if for no other reason it will keep your ISP happy when they ask you to connect to it.
      I do understand that it can lead to confusion over demarcation points (which is the XNTE and not the NTE-5).
      Yep, we have these (made by Pressac-the people who supply BT, note no extension connections so not centraslied filtering) but for the main point would always recommend an NTE5 + faceplate for the reasons already stated. You are also less likely to get grief from BT/Openreach if the correct socket has been fitted. (although in this case the XNTE means no problems anyway, but no means of disconnecting the internal wiring if no internal NTE5 fitted).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      ThEgOg's Avatar
      ThEgOg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      loads of replies cheers guys, still a bit confused as to what i need though

      heres a pic of inside my xnte on the front of the house.



      what is my best course of action?

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      I think they have decided that you should fit a new NTE5 and filtered faceplate upstairs and run the router from that.

      You can then connect up your downstairs socket as a phone only point.

      Just out of interest, if you disconnect the downstairs extension from the faceplate, what stats do you get?

    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      Yep, bad news, your first socket is upstairs(strange!), so, fit an NTE5 up there along with filtered faceplate.........BUT.........before you do.......

      Remove one set of wires from the socket upstairs, check you still have dial tone, check the other socket is dead, now check your stats form up there.

      No change? Don't bother doing ANYTHING.

      Change? Fit NTE5 and filtered faceplate....BUT...the router WILL have to be up there.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      ThEgOg's Avatar
      ThEgOg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      thanks again for all the replies guys much appreciated

      @runitdirect, would that be the same as pulling the wires off as smithy99 has suggested?

      as i've done that and the speeds appear to be the same, i hadn't done a stat check before and after though.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      as i've done that and the speeds appear to be the same, i hadn't done a stat check before and after though.
      It would be, as you are probably capped. Post the stats with the wires removed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: external nte grey box, what are my options for optimum connection speeds?

      Since the OP already has an external NTE, wouldn't it be easier to fit a couple of filtered sockets like ADSL nation XTF-85's ?
      If the unfiltered inputs were used on these units, ( minus the ring wire ) either socket could be used for the router couldn't it ?
      Just seems like a neater solution to me.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION