Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

    This is a discussion on BT iPlate Speed Enhancer within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey Thanks for reading my thread, I was just wondering, if I install a BT iPlate when can I start ...

    1. #1
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Hey Thanks for reading my thread,
      I was just wondering, if I install a BT iPlate when can I start seeing results. Now if you're a BT customer - which I'm not - BT automatically test your line again or something like that. Will sky also re-test my line after I've installed the iPlate or will I have to ask them to. I will be recieveing it either today or tomorrow. Should I just phone them up and explain to them that I have installed a BT iPlate and I would like my line to be tested?

      Thanks,

      P.S Does anybody know how long it takes for the BT iPlate to reach fully optimized speeds?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer


      Select Brian Blessed mode:-The iplate is a waste of space and money.
      If you don't have telephone extensions it wont make a jot of difference to your Internet speed.
      If you do have extensions the same result can be achieved by undoing the faceplate on your master socket and carefully removing any wires connected to pin 3 (the bell wire)

      I thank you


      PS. If you post your router statistics we can see if your line is capped.
      If not and you do as above with your extentions then you should see any improvement immediately.


    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      The BT i-plate just removes the ring wire from your setup, something you can do by just pulling it out.

      What you really need to optimise your ADSL is a filtered faceplate, this will isolate all your internal wiring (if you have any) and give you the best case senario connection.

      You can get your best stats by using the TEST socket, the filtered faceplate will then allow you to keep these stats all the time and any extra speed that comes with it.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      If you do have extensions you would have been far better fitting a filtered faceplate rather than believing BTs hype about their iPlate. If you don't have extensions, you are just wasting your money fitting either.

      Has your eyesight deteriorated badly or have you just found you can format the text on the forum? Either way, please refrain from using oversize and bold text unless you want to emphasise a point, many will not even bother to answer a query formatted like your post. This is not your first post so you should be aware that it is completely unnecessary.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      The I Plate(now Broad Band Accelerator) does NOT simply remove the ring wire, it filters it by way of an inductor (which is now fitted to the latest NTE5's as standard). It also features the same component as the BT 80B RF3 which can help line stability (as proven by BT's tests & our own customer feeback). The bell wire filter can make a big difference in speed IF you have extensions, no extensions=no change in speed (as BT will tell you). A filtered faceplate with give the same benefits as the bell wire filter with the addition of centralised filtering (so no plug in filters on extensions) but will not have any impact on line stability (fit a BT 80B RF3 in addtion if line drop outs are an issue, note this is quite rare).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Okay thanks guys. I do have and sometimes use extensions. and I do have a NTE5 Socket. I just installed the iPlate it today and I've already tried using the test socket a while back but i pulled the wires out. I fixed just buy lining up the wires plugging it in and hoping for the best. I'm not that good with telephone sockets at the moment but my line attention as decrease the slightest bit (I'll wait 1 week for it to full sync with my line). For some strange reason BT can only give my upto 1.5Mb. Even though after I complained to Sky about my 0.8Mb speed they tested my line again and they gave me 2Mb for about 6 hours then decided to give my 1.1Mb because BT said that my line can only support 1.5Mb. I live "4724 kilometres" away from the Exchange (according to Sky). Then my speed dropped to 0.35Mb! Which REALLY annoyed me. I thought I'd try the iPlate seeing as I'm not that good when it comes to sockets. I'm only 13 lol my line attention is at 64dB. Hopefully it will decrease. Sky said they would be testing my line soon. So hopefully the will overnight. Fingers Crossed
      Last edited by SiNGhKiNG; 26-07-10 at 11:49 PM.

    8. #7
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      If you do have extensions you would have been far better fitting a filtered faceplate rather than believing BTs hype about their iPlate. If you don't have extensions, you are just wasting your money fitting either.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Has your eyesight deteriorated badly or have you just found you can format the text on the forum? Either way, please refrain from using oversize and bold text unless you want to emphasise a point, many will not even bother to answer a query formatted like your post. This is not your first post so you should be aware that it is completely unnecessary.
      This made me laugh
      I just thought I would. I like it.

    9. #8
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      [PS. If you post your router statistics we can see if your line is capped.
      If not and you do as above with your extentions then you should see any improvement immediately.
      Here are my router statistics: (I've complained about my 0.35Mb Speed cap)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 442 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 db 40.7 db
      Noise Margin 16.6 db 11.5 db
      Last edited by SiNGhKiNG; 27-07-10 at 10:50 AM.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by SiNGhKiNG View Post
      (I've complained about my 0.35Mb Speed cap)
      You're capped at 384/448 adsl2plus. What did sky say when you complained - did they not uncap the speed?

    11. #10
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Indeed, your line should be capable of around 2Mbps, I'm afraid you will have to get back on to Sky.


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION